Newsletter   Secure Checkout   Shopping Cart (0 Items)  
Search:    Welcome Guest! Save up to 30-40% on most items with our awesome everyday discounts!

The Owlstone Crown [Paperback]

Our Price $ 6.26  
Retail Value $ 8.95  
You Save $ 2.69  (30%)  
Item Number 254884  
Buy New $6.26
Out Of Stock!
Currently Out Of Stock
Currently unavailable...

Item description for The Owlstone Crown by X. J. Kennedy...

Orphans Timothy and Verity are cruelly treated by their foster parents before escaping to another world where they are caught up in a struggle against a despicable tyrant and his wicked ally.

Promise Angels is dedicated to bringing you great books at great prices. Whether you read for entertainment, to learn, or for literacy - you will find what you want at!

Item Specifications...

Pages   176
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 0.5" Width: 5.25" Height: 8.25"
Weight:   0.5 lbs.
Binding  Softcover
Release Date   Feb 1, 2005
Publisher   Hand Print
ISBN  1932425357  
ISBN13  9781932425352  

Availability  0 units.

More About X. J. Kennedy

Register your artisan biography and upload your photo! X. J. Kennedy is an acclaimed poet, children s author, college teacher, and textbook author. He has taught freshman composition at the University of Michigan; the University of North Carolina, Greensboro; and Tufts University. Since 1966, more than 2 million students have treasured his introductory literature texts and The Bedford Reader, coedited with Dorothy M. Kennedy and Jane E. Aaron, now in its ninth edition.Dorothy M. Kennedy is a writer and editor whose articles and reviews have ppeared in both professional and academic journals. She has taught composition at the University of Michigan and Ohio University and, with X. J. Kennedy, is the recipient of the NCTE Teacher's Choice Award for Knock at a Star: A Child's Introduction to Poetry.Marcia F. Muth teaches, writes, and edits. She has taught first-year writing at The Ohio State University and other introductory courses at St. Peter's College (Englewood Cliffs). Her many writing workshops have been sponsored by Fordham University, the University of Colorado Colorado Springs, and currently the School of Education and Human Development at the University of Colorado Denver. She is the author or coauthor of many composition textbooks and ancillaries, including The Bedford Guide for College Writers, The Concise Bedford Guide for Writers, Writing and Revising: A Portable Guide, Researching and Writing: A Portable Guide, and The St. Martin's Pocket Guide to Research and Documentation (all from Bedford/St. Martin's). Her projects as a writer and an editor have included Harold D. Lasswell: An Annotated Bibliography as well as many grant proposals, textbooks, ancillaries, reports, and other publications. She continues to learn how to write clearly and effectively from her students, editors, reviewers, and writing colleagues.


X. J. Kennedy currently resides in Lexington, in the state of Massachusetts. X. J. Kennedy was born in 1942.

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.

Product Categories

1Books > Subjects > Children > Literature > Action & Adventure
2Books > Subjects > Teens > Literature & Fiction > Adventure & Thrillers
3Books > Subjects > Teens > Science Fiction & Fantasy > Fantasy

Reviews - What do customers think about The Owlstone Crown?

Unique and fast paced adventure.  May 18, 2008
I'm a children's librarian, and I can't figure out why this book didn't catch on and become an instant success-- well known by kids, teachers and librarians. The story is fantastic and memorable. A great fantasy for 3rd to 5th grades but slightly shorter and easier to read than others written for this age group. The adventure isn't overly complex with extensive vocabulary, which can limit audience. This lack of vocabulary and layers doesn't water down the story, it makes it faster paced. The Owlstone Crown will get kids' attention from the first page (I've witnessed this often) and they will remember details and plot because there's nothing else out there like it. It's unique! (And how many times can we say that about a time travel fantasy?)
Great characters, nice brother-sister adventure, good storytelling  Apr 24, 2008
This was one of my fav books as a child. It's still sitting on my bookshelf, 20+ yrs later. I think of this book every time I eat parsnips, which is quite often! I'm glad it's back in print because it's a very memorable book with its great storytelling devices, wonderful character descriptions, and excellent pacing. Good for fans of books like Lion Witch Wardrobe, Alice in Wonderland, Wiz of Oz.
Terrific fun for all ages!!  Aug 18, 2007
I bought this book when I was in fifth grade and used to re-read it every summer until I loaned it out and never got it back. For anyone who likes magic and adventure stories, this is a great book! There are terrific lessons in this book for young and old and it's a wonderful story. A must read as far as I'm concerned.
Fast-paced adventure  Dec 30, 1998
Why is this fast-paced fantasy fun out of print? Kids about 4th grade will want to look for it in libraries. When unhappy orphans Tim and Verity Tibb fall into a parallel world called 'Other Earth,' they quickly rally an assortment of odd friends to defeat a criminal dictator and restore peace to the realm. Suspense and excitement combine with genuine humor in this gripping yarn. There is also a sequel, called "The Eagle As Wide As the World."

Write your own review about The Owlstone Crown

Ask A Question or Provide Feedback regarding The Owlstone Crown

Item Feedback and Product Questions
For immediate assistance call 888.395.0572 during the hours of 10am thru 8pm EST Monday thru Friday and a customer care representative will be happy to help you!

Help us continuously improve our service by reporting your feedback or questions below:

I have a question regarding this product
The information above is incorrect or conflicting
The page has misspellings or incorrect grammar
The page did not load correctly in my browser or created an error.

Email Address:
Anti Spam Question. To combat spammers we require that you answer a simple question.
What color is the sky?
Leave This Blank :
Do Not Change This Text :

Add This Product Widget To Your Website

Looking to add this information to your own website? Then use our Product Widget to allow you to display product information in a frame that is 120 pixels wide by 240 pixels high.

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website and enjoy!

Order toll-free weekdays 10am thru 10pm EST by phone: 1-888-395-0572 (Lines are closed on holidays & weekends.)
Customer Service | My Account | Track My Orders | Return Policy | Request Free Catalog | Email Newsletter

Gift Certificates
RSS Feeds
About Us
Contact Us
Terms Of Use
Privacy Policy