Newsletter   Secure Checkout   View Cart (0 items)  
Search:    Welcome Guest! Save up to 30-40% on most items with our awesome everyday discounts!

Real Christianity: A Paraphrase in Modern English of a Practical View of the Prevailing Religious System of Professed Christians in the H [Paperback]

By William Wilberforce (Author) & Bob Beltz (Revised by)
Our Price $ 10.50  
Retail Value $ 15.00  
You Save $ 4.50  (30%)  
Item Number 31984  
Buy New $10.50
Quantity:
Out Of Stock!
Discontinued - Out Of Print
The manufacturer has discontinued this product and no longer offers it for sale. We are unable to obtain more stock.
Currently unavailable...

Item description for Real Christianity: A Paraphrase in Modern English of a Practical View of the Prevailing Religious System of Professed Christians in the H by William Wilberforce & Bob Beltz...

Overview
This book helped abolish the slave trade in the United Kingdom more than 200 years ago. The updated classic, first published in 1797, is being reissued in time for the Walden Media movie, "Amazing Grace."

Publishers Description
Just in time for the release of Amazing Grace, the movie about the life of William Wilberforce, is this edition of his classic book from 1797, Real Christianity, paraphrased in modern language and made more accessible to contemporary readers. This is the book that helped abolish the slave trade in the United Kingdom, and called Christians to live a more authentic life of faith more than 200 years ago. The timeless truths it contains will speak to readers in fresh ways today. Christians who eschew cultural Christianity in favor of a real faith in Christ will find the principles here thought-provoking and applicable. The social justice orientation will appeal to readers of Jim Wallis, Os Guinness, Charles Colson, Shane Claiborne, John Perkins, Bono, and Nancy Pearcy. Readers will also find the book is a good litmus test of the authenticity of their own faith.


Community Description
Just in time for the release of Amazing Grace, the movie about the life of William Wilberforce, is this edition of his classic book from 1797, Real Christianity, paraphrased in modern language and made more accessible to contemporary readers. This is the book that helped abolish the slave trade in the United Kingdom, and called Christians to live a more authentic life of faith more than 200 years ago.

The timeless truths it contains will speak to readers in fresh ways today. Christians who eschew cultural Christianity in favor of a real faith in Christ will find the principles here thought-provoking and applicable.

Please Note, Community Descriptions and notes are submitted by our shoppers, and are not guaranteed for accuracy.


Promise Angels is dedicated to bringing you great books at great prices. Whether you read for entertainment, to learn, or for literacy - you will find what you want at promiseangels.com!

Item Specifications...


Studio: Regal Books
Pages   203
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 8.46" Width: 5.62" Height: 0.45"
Weight:   0.55 lbs.
Binding  Softcover
Release Date   Jan 1, 2007
Publisher   GOSPEL LIGHT PUBLISHERS #9
Age  12-10
Edition  Revised  
ISBN  0830743111  
ISBN13  9780830743117  


Availability  0 units.


More About William Wilberforce & Bob Beltz


Register your artisan biography and upload your photo!

William Wilberforce (1759-1833) was a member of the British Parliament. He was also affiliated with the Clapham Sect, a group of Evangelicals who were active in public life. He was very instrumental in many social justice issues, including the abolition of slavery in England.



William Wilberforce lived in Hull. William Wilberforce was born in 1759 and died in 1833.

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.



Product Categories

1Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Christianity > Christian Living > General
2Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Christianity > Church History > General
4Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Religious Studies > History


Christian Product Categories
Books > Christian Living > Practical Life > General



Reviews - What do customers think about Real Christianity (Revised)?

Authentic Christianity  Mar 25, 2007
William Wilberforce makes clear his intended audience are readers who perceive themselves to be Christians, people who attend church on a regular basis. Remember this book was first published in the early nineteenth century when the majority in Great Britain felt peer pressure to attend church on a regular basis. The book is a call for introspection: How will you face God after you leave this earth. The author makes distinction between the cultural Christian and to what he considers an authentic Christian. What constitutes authentic religion and authentic faith? Expresses a desire that Christians should have desire to know the scripture and have the ability to defend their Faith. Does one have a desire to be well educated over having a godly knowledge of the bible? Does one's desire for a place in society determines behavior and thought or does one's desire to grow closer to God? Wilberforce is critical of Christians who call Faith a private matter. As if it is something to be kept to oneself and not for public declaration. Does the individual feel this way because he is insecure in his knowledge of the bible, insecurity about his ability to defend his thoughts, or lack of faith in his stated belief? The author makes a distinction between being a moral person and a Christian, A moral person tries to do good things and avoid doing bad things. A standard set up by man not God.

Wilberforce argues that many a Christian have a misperception about the nature of God and the nature of sin, therefore they do not perceive oneself correctly before God. Christians do not take Satan serious and do not take sin serious. One finds oneself belittle their own guilt and not acknowledging the importance of the cross. The author lists the essentials of the Christian Faith:
Jesus came to earth to live as a human being, to suffer through the humiliations of being man as if he were a sinner, to die as if he were a sinner, to rise from the dead - so we can come with confidence to come to God for forgiveness for ones sins.

Jesus did not die on the cross so God the Father could have a more tolerant perspective about sin. Man is still worthy of hell. Man without repentance is doomed. Salvation is not about living a more ethical life. Salvation only comes from having an emotional response to a correct knowledge of one's own accountability to God and His hatred of sin. One is dependent on Jesus to avoid the punishment of sin. Behavior through the Holy Spirit will improve after conversion of Faith, but in way does the believer merit salvation.

Wilberforce goes to great lengths to express what it means to put God first in contrast an earthly attempt to be a good person, self-effort attempt to serve God, and a life lead by the Holy Spirit. Does one take doctrine serious; does one take the teachings of the bible to heart? Do you love God more than the acceptance of man? This perspective will effect how one budgets his time, use his Sunday. Does one grudgingly go to church then use the rest of the day for leisure or business? How does one study God's word, how does one worship?

The author goes into detail distinguish between man directed behavior and God directed behavior. A good reputation seeking God's will is something to seek, but one should be provoked to sinful anger or violence when one slanders you as a hypocrite. It is not the approval of man a Christian seeks, but the approval of God. Revenge and/or hate should not be a Christian response to slander or lies about ones Christian walk.

Wilberforce makes a case for a weaken nation because less people are authentic Christians. I find this regrettable because it seems to contradict his thesis about why someone should be an authentic Christian. The Author completes the book with a plea for the Christian to have a self examination of his Christian walk.

Yes, his efforts to end the slave trade and the movie Amazing Grace are two major factors in me seeking out this book.
 
Wilberforce for today  Mar 8, 2007
Best book on the Christian Life I've ever written. If this sounds presumptious, let me clarify. After writing a number of books on the Christian life over the years, I took on the task of updating this classic, written by William Wilberforce over 200 years ago. What he had to say then was so signficant to the modern world that I undertook the task of udating. What he has to say is immensely more helpful than anything I have ever written - thus - my best book as an author does not contain an original thought! Hope you enjoy.
A must read.
 
A superb edition of William Wilberforce's timeless classic.  Oct 27, 1999
Statesman and reformer William Wilberforce (1759-1833), best known for leading the 20-year fight to abolish the British slave trade, cared deeply about re-introducing classic works by Christian writers to new audiences. On one occasion he wrote of the "Practical Writings" of the celebrated 17th century divine Richard Baxter:

"With [Baxter's] controversial pieces I am little acquainted: but his Practical Writings, in four massy folios, are a treasury of Christian wisdom...[I]t would be a most valuable service to mankind to revise them, and perhaps to abridge them, so as to render them more suited to the taste of modern readers."

Editor Ellyn Sanna has done just this for Wilberforce's "Real Christianity." Her abridgements are judicious, and the revisions in language allow modern readers to derive the greatest benefit from Wilberforce's timeless call to embrace biblical Christianity and let it inform their lives. Thus, this new edition of "Real Christianity" does much to perpetuate a proper understanding and appreciation of Wilberforce's life and achievements. I have profited from, and will continue to profit from this valuable new edition. I regret, however, the omission of an index in this book, which would have been a helpful addition. Happily, this is the only detraction (and a small one at that) from this new edition.

 

Write your own review about Real Christianity (Revised)



Ask A Question or Provide Feedback regarding Real Christianity (Revised)


Item Feedback and Product Questions
For immediate assistance call 888.395.0572 during the hours of 10am thru 8pm EST Monday thru Friday and a customer care representative will be happy to help you!

Help us continuously improve our service by reporting your feedback or questions below:

I have a question regarding this product
The information above is incorrect or conflicting
The page has misspellings or incorrect grammar
The page did not load correctly in my browser or created an error.

Email Address:
Anti Spam Question. To combat spammers we require that you answer a simple question.
What color is the sky?
Leave This Blank :
Do Not Change This Text :



Add This Product Widget To Your Website

Looking to add this information to your own website? Then use our Product Widget to allow you to display product information in a frame that is 120 pixels wide by 240 pixels high.

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website and enjoy!



Order toll-free weekdays 10am thru 10pm EST by phone: 1-888-395-0572 (Lines are closed on holidays & weekends.)
Customer Service | My Account | Track My Orders | Return Policy | Request Free Catalog | Email Newsletter


Resources
Gift Certificates
RSS Feeds
Corporate
About Us
Contact Us
Policies
Terms Of Use
Privacy Policy