Newsletter   Secure Checkout   Shopping Cart (0 Items)  
Search:    Welcome Guest! Save up to 30-40% on most items with our awesome everyday discounts!

Polly Brown: A Modern-Day Oliver with a Twist [Hardcover]

By Tricia Bennett (Author)
Our Price $ 13.99  
Retail Value $ 19.99  
You Save $ 6.00  (30%)  
Item Number 83878  
Buy New $13.99
Out Of Stock!
Currently Out Of Stock
Currently unavailable...

Item description for Polly Brown: A Modern-Day Oliver with a Twist by Tricia Bennett...

Polly Brown simply wants to live a life of impact. Growing up in a secluded wing of an old English castle may sound enchanting and magical, but Polly is an orphan who spends her days in misery under the ridicule and mockery of her guardians, the Scumberrys. Just when things were are their worst, Polly meets Jeremiah Hodgekiss, a man who changes her life forever. Before she knows it, she is living in a land with silky white beaches, where kids ride the on the back of a tyrannosaurus rex, swim up waterfalls, and lions lay together with lambs. Unfortunately, the precocious little girl has a choice to make: stay and enjoy everything beyond her wildest dreams or return to the desolate life of pain and humiliation with a mission to help other children like herself. A wonderfully crafted narrative in the tradition of both Oliver Twist and Narnia, Polly Brown is the story of an orphan girl who needs to discover that she has both the inner strength and resources that will make her the truly amazing person she was born to be. First-time author Tricia Bennett expertly weaves in powerful Christian messages with cleverly named characters and a suspenseful plot. The tale subtly reminds us of modern-day issues and will challenge readers to stop for a moment to ponder their own lives. Join Polly on her roller-coaster, whirlwind adventure that takes her from the depths of despair to the dizzy heights of the mountaintop, where she finds that dreams can come true by pursuing them with all your heart. Recommended for ages 9 and up.

Publishers Description
Follow the story of a young orphan girl named Polly Brown who struggles to cope with life in the harsh environment of a children's home, situated in a genteel English country town. One day a mysterious stranger knocks at the door and invites her on a roller-coaster, whirlwind adventure that changes her life forever. She begins a voyage of self-discovery, where she finds out that dreams can come true if you pursue them with all your heart. Polly Brown is an authentic story that walks readers through hardship and joys. Young adults will sympathize with Polly's difficult and authentic journey from negativity to faith in God's guiding over her life. Her struggles are not glossed over, nor are they treated with a "just believe" attitude. Through Polly's honest talks with God, readers will learn how to pray and cultivate a real, relevant relationship with their Creator.

Promise Angels is dedicated to bringing you great books at great prices. Whether you read for entertainment, to learn, or for literacy - you will find what you want at!

Item Specifications...

Studio: Creation House
Pages   664
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 8.72" Width: 6.61" Height: 1.82"
Weight:   1.94 lbs.
Binding  Hardcover
Release Date   Oct 2, 2007
Publisher   CHARISMA HOUSE #135
Age  12-21
Series  Polly Brown Trilogly  
Series Number  1  
ISBN  1599792141  
ISBN13  9781599792149  

Availability  0 units.

More About Tricia Bennett

Register your artisan biography and upload your photo!

Tricia Bennett was raised in children's homes in England, which served as the main inspiration behind The Trouble with Polly Brown, the second book in her Polly Brown trilogy. She and her husband John spent many years fostering children, in addition to raising their own three children. They moved to America nearly five years ago, and opened their own English Tearoom called Polly's Pantry near the Villages in Wildwood, Florida. The tearoom was recently featured on a television cookery program called Back of the House, and Tricia has also been interviewed on a number of chat shows. Tricia loves children, and hosts Princess Parties at her Tearoom, where she administers the "Princess Test" to ensure that her young guests are real princesses--and not a single young princess has failed so far! Through her books, speaking and television appearances, Tricia uses her humor and honesty to reach into lives by giving fresh hope as well as renewed vision and purpose. Her future books will include the final installment of her Polly Brown trilogy, as well as a cookbook, two humorous books, "Don't Take the Same Plane As Me!" and "Why I Left Home Before the Kids!" as well as her autobiography. You can book Tricia for speaking engagements by contacting her website, as well as on

Tricia Bennett currently resides in Lady Lake, in the state of Florida.

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.

Product Categories

1Books > Subjects > Children > Religions > Fiction > Fiction
2Books > Subjects > Science Fiction & Fantasy > Fantasy > Epic
3Books > Subjects > Science Fiction & Fantasy > Fantasy > General
4Books > Subjects > Teens > Science Fiction & Fantasy > Fantasy

Christian Product Categories
Books > Fiction > General Christian > General

Similar Products

Reviews - What do customers think about Polly Brown?

Polly Brown: A Modern-day Oliver With a Twist  Nov 6, 2007
Polly Brown: A Modern-day Oliver With a Twist is a "must read" book. Tricia Bennett is an extremely articulate writer. She will have you laughing and crying all at the same time! You will fall in love with Polly Brown, a young orphan girl, as she invites you into her world of despair, hope, strife, encouragement, strength and plea with God. She meets a ragamuffin tramp who knocks on the orphanage door and changes her life forever. Polly takes you on a most wonderfully adventurous journey as she makes her way to a mountain top of miracles. Join Polly Brown on her miraculous encounter! I highly recommend this book and just can't wait to see the movie!! Polly Brown: A Modern-day Oliver With a Twist

Write your own review about Polly Brown

Ask A Question or Provide Feedback regarding Polly Brown

Item Feedback and Product Questions
For immediate assistance call 888.395.0572 during the hours of 10am thru 8pm EST Monday thru Friday and a customer care representative will be happy to help you!

Help us continuously improve our service by reporting your feedback or questions below:

I have a question regarding this product
The information above is incorrect or conflicting
The page has misspellings or incorrect grammar
The page did not load correctly in my browser or created an error.

Email Address:
Anti Spam Question. To combat spammers we require that you answer a simple question.
What color is the sky?
Leave This Blank :
Do Not Change This Text :

Add This Product Widget To Your Website

Looking to add this information to your own website? Then use our Product Widget to allow you to display product information in a frame that is 120 pixels wide by 240 pixels high.

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website and enjoy!

Order toll-free weekdays 10am thru 10pm EST by phone: 1-888-395-0572 (Lines are closed on holidays & weekends.)
Customer Service | My Account | Track My Orders | Return Policy | Request Free Catalog | Email Newsletter

Gift Certificates
RSS Feeds
About Us
Contact Us
Terms Of Use
Privacy Policy