Newsletter   Secure Checkout   Shopping Cart (0 Items)  
Search:    Welcome Guest! Save up to 30-40% on most items with our awesome everyday discounts!

New Testament Theology (Clarendon Paperbacks) [Paperback]

By George Bradford Caird (Author) & L. D. Hurst (Editor)
Our Price $ 96.03  
Retail Value $ 97.00  
You Save $ 0.97  
Item Number 160011  
Buy New $96.03
Available on the Internet only.

Clarendon Paperbacks - Full Series Preview
Image Title Price Stock Qty Add To Cart
  Discerning the Mystery PB   $ 52.00   In Stock  
  New Testament Theology (Clarendon Paperbacks)   $ 96.03   In Stock  
  The Thought of Thomas Aquinas   $ 82.16   In Stock  

Item description for New Testament Theology (Clarendon Paperbacks) by George Bradford Caird & L. D. Hurst...

This masterly presentation of New Testament Theology takes the unique step of setting up an imaginary debate amongst the various authors of the New Testament themselves. As central concepts (predestination, sin, atonement, the Church, sacrament, ethics, escathology, and christology) are "discussed" between such figures as Luke, Paul, John, and the author of Hebrews, the work moves to a climax with the presentation of the theology of Jesus himself. The result is a full discussion of the ideas which lie at the very heart of Christianity, deserving a place on the shelf of every serious pastor, theologian, and student of the Bible.

Publishers Description
This presentation of New Testament theology, completed since the author's death by Professor L.D. Hurst, takes the unique step of setting up an imaginary debate amongst the various authors of the New Testament themselves. As central concepts (predestination, sin, atonement, the Church, sacrament, ethics, eschatology and Christology) are discussed by such figures as Luke, Paul, John and the author of Hebrews, the work moves to its climax with a presentation of the theology of Jesus himself. The result provides a fresh and illuminating picture of ideas at the heart of Christianity.

Promise Angels is dedicated to bringing you great books at great prices. Whether you read for entertainment, to learn, or for literacy - you will find what you want at!

Item Specifications...

Studio: Oxford University Press, USA
Pages   520
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 8.47" Width: 5.39" Height: 1.2"
Weight:   1.45 lbs.
Binding  Softcover
Release Date   Dec 28, 1995
Publisher   Oxford University Press
Edition  Revised  
ISBN  0198263880  
ISBN13  9780198263883  

Availability  98 units.
Availability accurate as of Oct 25, 2016 03:09.
Usually ships within one to two business days from La Vergne, TN.
Orders shipping to an address other than a confirmed Credit Card / Paypal Billing address may incur and additional processing delay.

More About George Bradford Caird & L. D. Hurst

Register your artisan biography and upload your photo!

G.B. Caird was Professor of Exegesis of Holy Scripture at Oxford, UK.

George Bradford Caird was born in 1917.

George Bradford Caird has published or released items in the following series...

  1. Clarendon Paperbacks

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.

Product Categories

1Books > Subjects > History > Europe > England > General
2Books > Subjects > History > Europe > England
3Books > Subjects > History > World > General
4Books > Subjects > History > World
5Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Christianity > Reference > Criticism & Interpretation > Criticism & Interpretation
6Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Christianity > Reference > General
7Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Christianity > Reference > Bible > General
8Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Christianity > Theology > General

Similar Products

Reviews - What do customers think about New Testament Theology (Clarendon Paperbacks)?

Honestly deals with the text  Apr 20, 2005
Here is another NT theology book written from a moderate evangelical perspective. Caird follows in the tradition of Brevard Childs, James D. G. Dunn, and N. T. Wright. Though the author does try to draw out NT theological themes by going straight to the Bible, many strict conservative evangelicals will find many of Caird's arguments problematic. Caird develops his book by using a "conference method" where all the NT writers are at a table putting forth their respective views. This has the advantage of allowing the NT writers to speak with their own voices without modern dogmatic presuppositions. Caird also draws out the theology of the NT by using the theme of salvation as the "door hinge" to discuss other NT theological themes, dealing with the need of salvation, the experience of salvation, and the consummation of final salvation. Many will find this approach helpful, even though it may be limiting. Caird's discussion of the theology of Jesus (chapter 9) is very insightful. He discusses what he believes Jesus taught about the Kingdom, the Law, Israel and the nations, and himself. The only problem with this book is that Caird has fallen into the trap of allowing a socio-religious outlook to guide his exegesis (like Childs, Dunn, and Wright). This has the negative effect of blunting the evangelical message that Jesus Christ came down through a virgin birth, lived a perfect life, and died to remove the sins of the elect. Caird's approach is typical of those who try to "socialize" the Gospel (thus, many conservatives will not like some of Caird's conclusions). Overall though, it is a good book that contains lots of information on what the NT writers taught and preached.
While Caird's approach, style and format reflect an earlier time, his work is full of innovative ideas. He views N.T. Theology as a descriptive historical discipline, and his book includes a chapter on Jesus (as the focal point for the theology of the N.T. writers), and a chapter on Jesus' own theology.

From the outset it is clear that Caird sees the Christian faith as historical, and wishes to view it within it's historical 1st-century Jewish context: he sees God acting in and through the life and ministry of Jesus to bring man to the completed state for which he was created, to have dominion over the world.

Basically, the first four-fifths of his book deal with the divine plan of salvation. He shows that God created man for relation with Him, to image the divine nature, and to rule over creation. But through sin, man was no longer able to maintain a relation. God chose Israel to be the focal point for His action to redeem all mankind. The Torah served only a temporary and transient purpose of showing the kind of life modeled on a relation to God, to disciple man, but could not itself impower and enable man to reach full maturity.

God predestined man to be brought to completion through Christ. Jesus is given a relation to God and becomes the true man intended by God, and was given dominion over the world, as the second adam. Caird constantly stresses that we must view Jesus' relation to God in its stark human reality, and refrain from interpreting Jesus via the lens of later orthodoxy, however valid such claims may be.

Throughout his work, Caird deals with various themes and shows how the different N.T. writers deal with the subject. Also, Caird is constantly interpreting the key passages (e.g., Romans 7) and difficult themes (e.g., unforgiveable sin), and revealing the characteristic thought structure of the authors; all of which gives a cogency and unity to his treatment.

Caird offers ideas, material, and an approach that are presently being taken up by the Third Quest. In fact, N.T. Wright's major works can be seen as an extention of Caird's own. This book provides a general and broader frame of reference, and plenty of ideas and exegesis to make its own contribution to the current quest. It will stimulate and challenge....and give direction as well.


Write your own review about New Testament Theology (Clarendon Paperbacks)

Ask A Question or Provide Feedback regarding New Testament Theology (Clarendon Paperbacks)

Item Feedback and Product Questions
For immediate assistance call 888.395.0572 during the hours of 10am thru 8pm EST Monday thru Friday and a customer care representative will be happy to help you!

Help us continuously improve our service by reporting your feedback or questions below:

I have a question regarding this product
The information above is incorrect or conflicting
The page has misspellings or incorrect grammar
The page did not load correctly in my browser or created an error.

Email Address:
Anti Spam Question. To combat spammers we require that you answer a simple question.
What color is the sky?
Leave This Blank :
Do Not Change This Text :

Add This Product Widget To Your Website

Looking to add this information to your own website? Then use our Product Widget to allow you to display product information in a frame that is 120 pixels wide by 240 pixels high.

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website and enjoy!

Order toll-free weekdays 10am thru 10pm EST by phone: 1-888-395-0572 (Lines are closed on holidays & weekends.)
Customer Service | My Account | Track My Orders | Return Policy | Request Free Catalog | Email Newsletter

Gift Certificates
RSS Feeds
About Us
Contact Us
Terms Of Use
Privacy Policy