Newsletter   Secure Checkout   Shopping Cart (0 Items)  
Search:    Welcome Guest! Save up to 30-40% on most items with our awesome everyday discounts!

The Almost True Story of Ryan Fisher [Paperback]

By Rob Stennett (Author)
Our Price $ 9.09  
Retail Value $ 12.99  
You Save $ 3.90  (30%)  
Item Number 85612  
Buy New $9.09
Out Of Stock!
Discontinued - Out Of Print
The manufacturer has discontinued this product and no longer offers it for sale. We are unable to obtain more stock.
Currently unavailable...

Item description for The Almost True Story of Ryan Fisher by Rob Stennett...

Real estate agent Ryan Fisher's business doubles after he places an ad in a Christian business directory and decides to make more money by starting a church, which proves to be much more than he can handle.

Publishers Description
Meet Ryan Fisher---a self-assured real estate agent who's looking for an edge in the market.While watching a news special late one night, he sees evangelical Christians raising their hands in worship. It's like they're begging for affordable but classy starter homes.Ryan discovers the Christian business directory and places an ad complete with a Jesus fish. His business doubles in a week.But after visiting an actual church, Ryan realizes that with his business savvy, he could not only plant a church---he could create an empire. The Almost True Story of Ryan Fisher is a hilarious, spot-on, and often heartbreaking satire in the tradition of Kurt Vonnegut, Tom Perrotta, and Douglas Adams.

Promise Angels is dedicated to bringing you great books at great prices. Whether you read for entertainment, to learn, or for literacy - you will find what you want at!

Item Specifications...

Studio: Zondervan
Pages   348
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 8.5" Width: 5.7" Height: 0.91"
Weight:   0.75 lbs.
Binding  Softcover
Release Date   Jun 1, 2008
Publisher   Zondervan Publishing
ISBN  031027706X  
ISBN13  9780310277064  
UPC  025986277062  

Availability  0 units.

More About Rob Stennett

Register your artisan biography and upload your photo!

Rob Stennett is an award-wining novelist and filmmaker. He s the author of The Almost True Story of Ryan Fisher, The End Is Now, and Homemade Haunting. His writing has also appeared in screenplays, web articles, short films, commercials, documentaries, and live theatrical events across the country. When not writing, Rob is the creative director at One Chapel in Austin, Texas. His wife, Sarah, and their four daughters have an imperfect little life you can read about at


Rob Stennett currently resides in the state of Colorado. Rob Stennett was born in 1977.

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.

Product Categories

1Books > Subjects > Children > Religions > Fiction > Fiction
2Books > Subjects > Entertainment > Humor > Satire, Classic
3Books > Subjects > Entertainment > Humor > Satire, General
4Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > General > Contemporary
5Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > General
6Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Christianity > Fiction & Poetry > Fiction
7Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Christianity > Fiction & Poetry > Fiction > General

Christian Product Categories
Books > Fiction > General Christian > Contemporary

Reviews - What do customers think about Almost True Story Of Ryan Fisher?

Satirical look at megachurches  Apr 23, 2010
Some other reviews have stated that this is a Christian-oriented book, while others state that the book does not spew Christian-based themes. I found it to be somewhere in the middle. After all, the book is a satire of the building of the mega church in American society.

Ryan Fisher is a charismatic salesman who dreams of a better life after finding moderate success selling homes through a Christian Business Directory. After deciding to expand his business by attending church, he observes the pastor leading the people to believe in God and formulates a plan to create a church of his own. After "studying" how to create a church by reading self-help books like The Purpose Driven Life, he sets out for a small Oklahoma town to take over the town with his prowess and charm. His first church setting is in the local Chuck E. Cheese building.

The story develops from there with interesting anecdotes and commentary about churches in America. An example would be lending credence to leaders of non-denominational churches with no formal religious training - Ryan and his wife create legitimacy by fabricating a religious background.

I chuckled throughout reading the book because, after all, it was satire. You don't have to be a bible-thumping Christian or a card-carrying Atheist or agnostic to appreciate the mega church syndrome in America. The existence of canned Christianity in America is education enough to appreciate a book that pokes fun at how churches are built and run. Not to mention how the media jumps on bandwagons of success and failure as quickly as they can.

As for the writing, it is pleasant and not distracting. It wasn't a great page-turner and I wasn't up all night trying to finish the book, but I DID want to know what happened to Ryan. I was a little disappointed with the ending, but with the average novel nowadays, I almost always am.

Overall, a nice read and would recommend to those who appreciate satirical fiction.
I have a new favorite book!  Apr 18, 2010
I came across this book by accident and did not really know what to expect. You know, it was just another book to read. However, I was soon enthralled by the plot! All I could think about was getting home to read it. It'll make you laugh and cry and ponder thoughts as you realize that though this book is fiction, it presents church in a nonfiction way. I loved it! Good book, and a fairly easy read.
Interesting and entertaining  Apr 11, 2010
This is a very entertaining story. It's not really a page-turner for me, but overall I enjoyed it. I liked the subject, it was refreshing. I could appreciate the satire, the humor and I did enjoy reading every interesting event that took place throughout the story. I wish I liked it more though. There is definitely room for improvement. The transitions between scenes seemed too abrupt. And I would have liked to see a deeper approach on what Ryan had learned throughout his journey. Then again maybe he was just too busy with his church business that he didn't have a chance to slow down and come to any sort of realization.

Even though Ryan is dishonest and a bit manipulative, I found myself admiring his talent, his adventurous spirit and sharing some of the questions and doubts he has toward God. He might not be a real pastor, he had never gone to theological seminars, and he did not read bible thoroughly, but to me, he is better than those who have formal theological training, know every single story in the bible, who claim to be a man of God, but run around molesting little children and taking advantage of weak-minded people while preaching righteousness to others.
Poorly written; Totally Unbelievable  Apr 8, 2010
I got this on my Kindle for free. And it was pretty much worth the price. I didn't realize it was a Christian book at first--my mistake. But I've read some excellent Christian fiction in the past. So, I was hoping this was one of them. NOT!

It was meant as satire, but the story is COMPLETELY unbelievable. It tells of a non-Christian's ascent into being a major pastor. Then, he is undone when they realize he hadn't been to seminary.

Huh? When did anyone need to go to seminary to call himself a pastor (or a prophet for that matter)!

If this book IN ANY WAY was connected to the real world, all a pastor has to do is say God "called" him. But instead the guy in the book makes up a home church. Huh?

I finished the book because I thought it was going somewhere. But it went nowhere.

It was just dumb. The characters were wooden and unbelievable.

I think the author should have just made this a two page fable with a lesson at the end against the "Oprah-ization" of religion. It would have saved me some time.

I got this for free...but I think no one should waste money on this book. NOT worth it.
Amusing but.............  Mar 25, 2010
I found this to be an amusing and interesting read. It is a satirical Christian novel about a cocky non-Christian who sees a business opportunity in selling real estate to Christians and going on to start his own mega church. Even though it's very humorous, the character does not grow which I thought was disappointing. Entertaining, but could have been better.

Write your own review about Almost True Story Of Ryan Fisher

Ask A Question or Provide Feedback regarding Almost True Story Of Ryan Fisher

Item Feedback and Product Questions
For immediate assistance call 888.395.0572 during the hours of 10am thru 8pm EST Monday thru Friday and a customer care representative will be happy to help you!

Help us continuously improve our service by reporting your feedback or questions below:

I have a question regarding this product
The information above is incorrect or conflicting
The page has misspellings or incorrect grammar
The page did not load correctly in my browser or created an error.

Email Address:
Anti Spam Question. To combat spammers we require that you answer a simple question.
What color is the sky?
Leave This Blank :
Do Not Change This Text :

Add This Product Widget To Your Website

Looking to add this information to your own website? Then use our Product Widget to allow you to display product information in a frame that is 120 pixels wide by 240 pixels high.

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website and enjoy!

Order toll-free weekdays 10am thru 10pm EST by phone: 1-888-395-0572 (Lines are closed on holidays & weekends.)
Customer Service | My Account | Track My Orders | Return Policy | Request Free Catalog | Email Newsletter

Gift Certificates
RSS Feeds
About Us
Contact Us
Terms Of Use
Privacy Policy