Newsletter   Secure Checkout   Shopping Cart (0 Items)  
Search:    Welcome Guest! Save up to 30-40% on most items with our awesome everyday discounts!

My Soul Cries Out (Urban Christian) [Paperback]

By Sherri Lewis (Author)
Our Price $ 10.46  
Retail Value $ 14.95  
You Save $ 4.49  (30%)  
Item Number 103221  
Buy New $10.46
Out Of Stock!
Currently Out Of Stock
Currently unavailable...

Urban Christian - Full Series Preview
Image Title Price Stock Qty Add To Cart
  Sinsatiable (Urban Christian)   $ 10.46   In Stock  
  Be Careful What You Pray For   $ 10.46   In Stock  
  Losing It   $ 10.46   In Stock  
  An Inconvenient Friend   $ 10.46   In Stock  
  Forgiven (Urban Christian)   $ 10.46   In Stock  
  Flaws and All   $ 10.46   In Stock  
  My Mother's Child (Urban Christian)   $ 10.46   In Stock  
  Selling My Soul (Urban Christian)   $ 10.46   In Stock  
  Dance Into Destiny (Urban Christian)   $ 4.89   In Stock  
  A Woman's Worth   $ 10.46   In Stock  
  Prodigal (Urban Christian)   $ 10.46   In Stock  
  A Man's Worth (Urban Christian)   $ 11.06   In Stock  
  Divorcing the Devil   $ 10.46   In Stock  
  Dance to Destiny (Urban Christian)   $ 10.46   In Stock  
  His Woman, His Wife, His Widow (Urban Christian)   $ 9.07   In Stock  
  3:57 A.M. Timing Is Everything (Urban Christian)   $ 4.89   In Stock  
  Deliver Me From My Enemies (Urban Christian)   $ 10.46   In Stock  
  My Son's Wife (Urban Christian)   $ 11.06   In Stock  
  His Grace, His Mercy   $ 10.46   In Stock  
  Divorcing the Devil   $ 4.89   In Stock  

Item description for My Soul Cries Out (Urban Christian) by Sherri Lewis...

When she discovers her husband Kevin, the minister of music, in bed with another man, Monica Harris-Day turns to their pastor, Bishop Walker, for help, only to discover that he is not willing to risk the potential scandal and church division that would occur if the truth was exposed. Original.

Promise Angels is dedicated to bringing you great books at great prices. Whether you read for entertainment, to learn, or for literacy - you will find what you want at!

Item Specifications...

Studio: Urban Books
Pages   386
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 1" Width: 5.25" Height: 8.25"
Weight:   0.8 lbs.
Binding  Softcover
Release Date   Jul 1, 2007
Publisher   Urban Books
Series  Urban Christian  
ISBN  1893196976  
ISBN13  9781893196971  

Availability  0 units.

More About Sherri Lewis

Register your artisan biography and upload your photo!

Sherri Lewis has published or released items in the following series...
  1. Urban Christian

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.

Product Categories

1Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > Genre Fiction > African American
2Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > General > Contemporary
3Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > General
4Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > Short Stories > United States
5Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > World Literature > United States > African American > General

Similar Products

Reviews - What do customers think about My Soul Cries Out (Urban Christian)?

Excellent Read  Jun 12, 2008
This is a pretty good book. It actually brought my own Christianity into question. I really don't know how I would handle the situation presented here, but I know it wouldn't be this way. I don't want to give the book away...let's just say it's interesting and worth reading.
Lewis is a talented new author who's breaking ground that's needed breaking for quite some time.  May 4, 2008
"The worst day of my life was the day I caught my husband cheating on me."

That alone would be enough to throw even a strong woman into a tailspin. But the fact that Monica Harris-Day finds her worship-leader husband cheating with another man is an even greater shock. How could she have been so blind and not seen the signs? Should she divorce him on the spot? And why is their mega-church pastor so quick to look the other way?

Monica faces an emotional tempest in My Soul Cries Out. As a Christian woman she wants to do the right thing in God's eyes, but it's hard to know what that is in an age when Christians either pretend homosexuality doesn't exist or cast the first stone. Just how are we supposed to react to situations like Monica's? Should we make those caught in this sin leave our churches? Should we pretend we don't know?

This is an edgy novel that compassionately deals with the issue of homosexuality in the church. There are no easy answers here, but by following Monica's journey readers will start asking themselves the right questions. And that's the first step toward understanding God's point of view. Why is it that some sins are treated worse than others in the church? Why do we condemn gays to hell but allow gossip and envy? A relevant topic indeed.

Ms. Lewis doesn't condone homosexuality in this novel. Sin is sin, and she makes sure we realize that. However, we're also shown both sides of the issue through the pain of Monica's husband.

Granted, there are scenes and phrases in the book you probably won't find in your Mom's Christian fiction. Sex is talked about openly several times. But even in those few eyebrow raising moments, you can tell Lewis took care not to push the envelope just because she could. Let's be honest. Homosexuality DOES stretch the limits as a topic for Christian fiction.

It's a heavy subject, but there are many lighter moments too, like Monica's initial obsession with "Ben & Larry's" ice cream and her subsequent health and fitness makeover, something all females will relate to. Monica is the woman next door dealing with some very real issues. She struggles. She falls. She gets back up again because she wants to please God.

In the vein of Claudia Mair Burney and Marilynn Griffith, My Soul Cries Out will be a breath of fresh air to those longing for a little more grit in their stories. Lewis is a talented new author who's breaking ground that's needed breaking for quite some time.

--Reviewed by C.J. Darlington for TitleTrakk
Utterly Speechless  Apr 9, 2008
I've read a dozen Urban Christian novels, and I have quite a few favorites. I just finished this book this right now is the best Urban Christian novel I've ever read!! From beginning to end, I was completely drawn to the characters and there were quite a few plot twists that kept me engaged the entire time. I recommend EVERY Christian (or soon to be Christian) to read this book. The author is truly anointed!!!
Awesome!  Mar 25, 2008
I have attempted to read quite a few Christian novels... only to become frustrated about how often they are unrealistic. The circumstances and actions of the characters in the novels that the authors write about are not "real people." I know it's fiction, but it helps to write about scenarios that average people experience and in a fiction setting it allow the reader to consider how the characters responded and perhaps gain some insight on how to go about dealing with those same issues in their own lives. This book is refreshingly real! Love the plot, characters, and the ending! Great author, can't wait to read more.
A Compelling Read  Mar 14, 2008
Sherry Lewis has bravely taken a sensitive subject, a controversial subject, a heartbreaking subject and woven a tale that will make every reader examine her own heart. Sherry has the gift of writing fiction that makes you think.

The main thread of the story is the devastation of a young Christian womam who discovers her husband is bisexual, something she never knew until she came home and found her husband cheating on her with another man.

Another thread is the corruption in this young couples church. Corruption in high places. Corruption in the very people who should be there to help them, to protect them.

My Soul Cries out is a must read. I highly recommend it.

Write your own review about My Soul Cries Out (Urban Christian)

Ask A Question or Provide Feedback regarding My Soul Cries Out (Urban Christian)

Item Feedback and Product Questions
For immediate assistance call 888.395.0572 during the hours of 10am thru 8pm EST Monday thru Friday and a customer care representative will be happy to help you!

Help us continuously improve our service by reporting your feedback or questions below:

I have a question regarding this product
The information above is incorrect or conflicting
The page has misspellings or incorrect grammar
The page did not load correctly in my browser or created an error.

Email Address:
Anti Spam Question. To combat spammers we require that you answer a simple question.
What color is the sky?
Leave This Blank :
Do Not Change This Text :

Add This Product Widget To Your Website

Looking to add this information to your own website? Then use our Product Widget to allow you to display product information in a frame that is 120 pixels wide by 240 pixels high.

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website and enjoy!

Order toll-free weekdays 10am thru 10pm EST by phone: 1-888-395-0572 (Lines are closed on holidays & weekends.)
Customer Service | My Account | Track My Orders | Return Policy | Request Free Catalog | Email Newsletter

Gift Certificates
RSS Feeds
About Us
Contact Us
Terms Of Use
Privacy Policy