Newsletter   Secure Checkout   View Cart (0 items)  
Search:    Welcome Guest! Save up to 30-40% on most items with our awesome everyday discounts!

The Fugitive King (Professor Simon Shaw) [Paperback]

Our Price $ 10.46  
Retail Value $ 14.95  
You Save $ 4.49  (30%)  
Item Number 247830  
Buy New $10.46
Quantity:
Available on the Internet only.

Item description for The Fugitive King (Professor Simon Shaw) by R Shaber Sarah...

Deep in the woods beneath the Blue Ridge Parkway in North Carolina, a forest ranger finds the remains of a young woman who disappeared forty years ago, entombed in an old pickup truck. Back in Raleigh, the confessed killer, who is serving a life sentence for her murder, now asks Professor Simon Shaw to help prove his innocence. Reluctant to accept the case, but happy to escape the city's summer heat and his brewing romantic troubles, Shaw heads into the mountains to the scene of the crime--his hometown of Boone. Shaw puts old memories, small-town gossip, and obliging relatives to good use, but finds a surprising lack of evidence against Roy Freedman. What would drive a man to admit to a murder he didn't commit? Did Roy kill Eva Potter or was he a convenient scapegoat? A second murder disguised as an accident points Simon in the right direction, leading him to a stunning discovery hidden deep in the hills, to a secret worth lying--and killing--for.



Promise Angels is dedicated to bringing you great books at great prices. Whether you read for entertainment, to learn, or for literacy - you will find what you want at promiseangels.com!

Item Specifications...


Pages   224
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 8.4" Width: 5.5" Height: 0.6"
Weight:   0.6 lbs.
Binding  Softcover
Release Date   Mar 1, 2007
Publisher   Bella Rosa Books
ISBN  1933523212  
ISBN13  9781933523217  


Availability  130 units.
Availability accurate as of Mar 27, 2017 01:01.
Usually ships within one to two business days from La Vergne, TN.
Orders shipping to an address other than a confirmed Credit Card / Paypal Billing address may incur and additional processing delay.


More About R Shaber Sarah


Register your artisan biography and upload your photo! Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.



Product Categories

1Books > Subjects > Mystery & Thrillers > General
2Books > Subjects > Mystery & Thrillers > Mystery > General



Reviews - What do customers think about The Fugitive King (Professor Simon Shaw)?

More than a "jelly bean"  Jun 25, 2004
I picked this up on a whim, adding it to my "jelly bean" (quick, fast, mindless) collection for the beach. Frankly, I wasn't expecting much, especially when I realized after the first chapter that the book cover description contained major inaccuracies, as did one of the official reviews here at this site. If the editing was that bad on the blurbs, how bad was the book itself? I also vaguely recalled that "Snipe Hunt" had been a so-so read from some years back.

Instead, this turned out to be a well written, very well researched little story with interesting characters, not nauseatingly cozy, and generally a good read. The plot is not predictable, the humor is light (yet occassionally scathing) and the characters are neither flat nor over-the-top. Fans of Sharon McCrumb's NC books and Margaret Maron's Debra Knox ("Bootlegger's Daughter") will like this book.

Shaber manages to interlace some history without being pendantic, contrived or annoying (as in those Anne Perry books explaining Victorian life). The back story about Melungeons is fascinating.

Shaber also knows her North Carolinians. The jab at the owner of the Mercedes SUV (from Charlotte, where else? What other kind of idiot takes a Mercedes off-roading?) who was upset that there was a scratch on his finish will amuse anyone who's ever spent time in a mountain town in NC during the summer season.

A great read for the beach, and especially, the mountains. And no follow-up guilt over allowing your brain to rot during vacation!

 
Couldn't put it down...  Jun 21, 2003
I picked up this book to pass a few minutes, and wound up unable to put it down. The characters were varied and well-presented allowing them to all fit comfortably into the story. The setting, the Blue Ridge Mountains, is an area full of legends and stories that boosted the storyline. All in all, I read it in one day and wish I had another in the series to start right now. It's one of those books where the characters are so well-done you don't want to lose touch with them.
 
Couldn't put it down...  Jun 21, 2003
I picked up this book to pass a few minutes, and wound up unable to put it down. The characters were varied and well-presented allowing them to all fit comfortably into the story. The setting, the Blue Ridge Mountains, is an area full of legends and stories that boosted the storyline. All in all, I read it in one day and wish I had another in the series to start right now. It's one of those books where the characters are so well-done you don't want to lose touch with them.
 
A Witty Cozy Mystery!  Jan 11, 2003
I read it and never laughed out loud as I have at some cozy books, but I sure did smile a lot. Simon is a likeable fellow and it was a great book.
 
Fun and clever mystery  Jan 5, 2003
Simon Shaw has achieved some notoriety as a "forensic historian"; that is, a history professor who has a knack for solving really, really cold murder cases by examining them from a historian's perspective. Now a convicted murderer who has read about Simon escapes from prison and takes Simon hostage. He demands that Simon investigate the decades-old murder for which he is serving a life sentence. He did confess, the convict says, but the confession was beaten out of him.

After this exciting opening, Simon manages to get the guy to give himself up. Nothing much happens for the next 70 pages or so as Simon half-heartedly looks into the matter while dealing with his shaky relationship with his non-committal girlfriend, Julia, and his university students desperate for passing grades. But after reading some old newspapers and talking to a couple of people, he decides something about the 1958 murder is out of whack. And since it took place near his hometown of Boone, North Carolina, and since he needs to get away for a while, the old murder is a perfect excuse to pay a visit to his relatives.

The plot doesn't really get rolling until about halfway through the book, but it didn't seem to matter too much. The characters are engaging and amusing, Simon is likable and very human, and the novel has a sharp sense of place that makes me homesick for my mother's cooking. The family relationships have a ring of truth to them that makes this book a fun read, and the solution to the mystery was satisfying and clever without being outlandish.

 

Write your own review about The Fugitive King (Professor Simon Shaw)



Ask A Question or Provide Feedback regarding The Fugitive King (Professor Simon Shaw)


Item Feedback and Product Questions
For immediate assistance call 888.395.0572 during the hours of 10am thru 8pm EST Monday thru Friday and a customer care representative will be happy to help you!

Help us continuously improve our service by reporting your feedback or questions below:

I have a question regarding this product
The information above is incorrect or conflicting
The page has misspellings or incorrect grammar
The page did not load correctly in my browser or created an error.

Email Address:
Anti Spam Question. To combat spammers we require that you answer a simple question.
What color is the sky?
Leave This Blank :
Do Not Change This Text :



Add This Product Widget To Your Website

Looking to add this information to your own website? Then use our Product Widget to allow you to display product information in a frame that is 120 pixels wide by 240 pixels high.

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website and enjoy!



Order toll-free weekdays 10am thru 10pm EST by phone: 1-888-395-0572 (Lines are closed on holidays & weekends.)
Customer Service | My Account | Track My Orders | Return Policy | Request Free Catalog | Email Newsletter


Resources
Gift Certificates
RSS Feeds
Corporate
About Us
Contact Us
Policies
Terms Of Use
Privacy Policy