Newsletter   Secure Checkout   Shopping Cart (0 Items)  
Search:    Welcome Guest! Save up to 30-40% on most items with our awesome everyday discounts!

Jimmy [Paperback]

By Robert Whitlow (Author)
Our Price $ 5.59  
Retail Value $ 7.99  
You Save $ 2.40  (30%)  
Item Number 33373  
Buy New $5.59
Out Of Stock!
Discontinued - Out Of Print
The manufacturer has discontinued this product and no longer offers it for sale. We are unable to obtain more stock.
Currently unavailable...

Alternate Formats List Price Our Price Item Number Availability
Mass Market Paperback $ 7.99 $ 5.59 33373
Paperback $ 15.99 $ 11.19 40531 In Stock

Item description for Jimmy by Robert Whitlow...

Once you look at the world through Jimmy's eyes, you'll never see it the same again. Jimmy's world is a place where a boy can grow to be a man, even if he's "special." Where angels hover, mostly unseen. Where danger can happen, and hearts can falter--but love is never wasted.

From best-selling author Robert Whitlow...a poignant tale of innocence and courage in the tradition of Huckleberry Finn and To Kill A Mockingbird.

Promise Angels is dedicated to bringing you great books at great prices. Whether you read for entertainment, to learn, or for literacy - you will find what you want at!

Item Specifications...

Studio: Thomas Nelson
Pages   528
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 6.7" Width: 4.1" Height: 1.7"
Weight:   0.55 lbs.
Binding  Softcover
Release Date   Oct 31, 2006
Publisher   Thomas Nelson
ISBN  1595542310  
ISBN13  9781595542311  
UPC  020049131770  

Availability  0 units.

More About Robert Whitlow

Register your artisan biography and upload your photo! Whitlow is a Merit Scholar graduate of Furman University and the University of Georgia School of Law. He has been in private legal practice since 1976.

Robert Whitlow currently resides in the state of North Carolina. Robert Whitlow was born in 1954.

Robert Whitlow has published or released items in the following series...
  1. Alexia Lindale Novels
  2. Santee
  3. Tides of Truth
  4. Tides of Truth (Thomas Nelson)

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.

Product Categories

1Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > General > Contemporary
2Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Christianity > Fiction & Poetry > Fiction

Christian Product Categories
Books > Fiction > General Christian > General

Similar Products

$15.99  $11.19

$15.99  $11.19

Reviews - What do customers think about Jimmy?

Touching Story  Nov 2, 2008
Robert Whitlow has stepped outside of his normal narrative and it is beautiful. The story of Jimmy changed the way I look at people and the things that surround me. Good read, good soul stuff, too!
TOUCHED MY HEART,,,,,  Feb 13, 2008
This author is a great story teller.The main character Jimmy is a young boy who has mental limitations and is considered by many to be "slow". However he is a very loving boy tries to help everyone and is extremely close with his family. He has a special gift of remembering very clearly everything he sees and hears. He is also a very spiritual boy who sees "watchers" whom his mother calls angels.

Jimmy lives in a small southern town with his father, a lawyer, and his stepmother who has been in Jimy's life since he was 5 yrs. old. Jimmy loves his parents and his grandparents who live a few streets away. He is especially close to his grandfather who teaches Jimmy many things and tells him he can do anything he wants.

This is a book that takes us from a court room trial to a bittersweet ending, entering deep into our hearts and keeps you wanting more.

Hope the author writes a seqel to this moving story. I'll be watching for it.
Humility and Simplicity  Jan 24, 2008
This book is definately different from "The List" and "The Trial", but demonstrates the many facets of love: maternal love for a child not born of her womb and sacrifical love. Humility to care for others outside of your comfort zone, and the desire to want to know more "Jimmys" within our pompus society; simplicity and childlike faith needed to endure the difficult days and appreciate joy that is not found in earthly treasures.
I wish I had known about the ending, as I was disheartend, but that leads me to want to know more people like Jimmy, as stated above, and was thankful to know Mr. Whitlow wrote an alternate ending, of which I'm looking forward to reading.
Mr. Whitlow also demonstates the evil within man's heart, without being perverted and leading your imagination astray.
I'm hopeful whomever reads this, will be changed.

Jimmy also has near-perfect recall for things he hears spoken...  Jun 5, 2007
Robert Whitlow is known for his John Grisham-like legal thrillers, but in JIMMY he diverges from his normal courtroom dramas to write a heart-tugging tale. The story revolves around a mentally handicapped boy whose discovery of a crime puts his life in danger.

At 13 years old, Jimmy knows he's "special." Writes Whitlow: "He'd been special all his life, and it had created a lot of problems for him, especially at school....However when Mama told Jimmy he was special, the word took on another meaning. Coming from her mouth, the word wrapped around him like a hug." Jimmy also has near-perfect recall for things he hears spoken, which foretells future trouble from the opening pages.

Whitlow shines when he is developing characters, and in JIMMY his talents are in full force. He adeptly explores the loving relationship between a stepmother and her "very special boy," as well as Jimmy's relationship with his father, who he views as rather distant and difficult to please. Readers will also enjoy the relationship between Jimmy and his grandmother and grandfather, retired from the Georgia Power Company and proud owner of a 45-foot climbing pole in his backyard. He's determined that Jimmy will learn to climb it and build his confidence, a situation that foreshadows a tug of war with Jimmy's parents. Jimmy worries about his Grandpa because of his heart attack and needs constant reassurance that his Grandpa's heart will keep beating.

Whitlow knows how to craft a smooth, well-paced story, and in JIMMY he is able to make the simplest things (such as Jimmy's longing for a bike) a subject of absorbing interest for the reader. There's plenty of humor and some of the loose ends of the story remain unresolved by the closing pages, which adds to its authenticity.

It's difficult to strike the right balance of respect for a mentally handicapped adolescent and portraying them realistically, but Whitlow does an admirable job here. Whether Jimmy is helping to manage the football team or interacting with his parents, his interior life is believable and his dialogue is expertly portrayed. (Jimmy tends to ask people whatever is on his mind, something we'd all enjoy doing if we could.) A tension point in the story revolves around Jimmy's birth mother wanting visitation and joint custody. Jimmy's confusion over her and his loyalty to his father and stepmother is believable and poignant.

This is a sweet novel that flirts with sentimentality in places, but doesn't sidestep cruelty and evil. The random acts of kindness, such as when Jimmy is able to buy his first bike, are balanced with the depravity of others (a cousin who takes every opportunity to hurt and malign Jimmy). The endearing character of Jimmy is guaranteed to melt the hardest heart. Whitlow handles the supernatural themes of the novel with a sure hand, letting the angels or "The Watchers" have just the right amount of page space without becoming overly dominant.

The novel's ending will shock many readers and disappoint others. Whitlow has anticipated this reaction and, in an interesting bit of promotion, offers an alternative ending on his website for those who were hoping for a different outcome. Although a sampling of readers on this preferred the alternative ending, I found the print conclusion more brutal and realistic. Enough said. No matter which ending you prefer, JIMMY is a good choice for any faith fiction reader who desires a thought-provoking, enjoyable read.

--- Reviewed by Cindy Crosby
Heartwarming and compelling  Apr 11, 2007
This book is not my usual read. I like the thrillers & legal twists of Whitlow's other books, but this was the only thing available when I wanted to read I started it. Jimmy drew me in & captured my heart. Anyone would want to have such a child, certainly w/o guile, but so obedient & so willing to please, respectful and loving. How many of you have that kind of child, regardless of mental capacity?
I checked out the alternate ending in which Jimmy is rescued, but do believe the published version is the best. I definitely recommend this book to any and all...just let it take you to his world & his understanding of it.

Write your own review about Jimmy

Ask A Question or Provide Feedback regarding Jimmy

Item Feedback and Product Questions
For immediate assistance call 888.395.0572 during the hours of 10am thru 8pm EST Monday thru Friday and a customer care representative will be happy to help you!

Help us continuously improve our service by reporting your feedback or questions below:

I have a question regarding this product
The information above is incorrect or conflicting
The page has misspellings or incorrect grammar
The page did not load correctly in my browser or created an error.

Email Address:
Anti Spam Question. To combat spammers we require that you answer a simple question.
What color is the sky?
Leave This Blank :
Do Not Change This Text :

Add This Product Widget To Your Website

Looking to add this information to your own website? Then use our Product Widget to allow you to display product information in a frame that is 120 pixels wide by 240 pixels high.

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website and enjoy!

Order toll-free weekdays 10am thru 10pm EST by phone: 1-888-395-0572 (Lines are closed on holidays & weekends.)
Customer Service | My Account | Track My Orders | Return Policy | Request Free Catalog | Email Newsletter

Gift Certificates
RSS Feeds
About Us
Contact Us
Terms Of Use
Privacy Policy