Newsletter   Secure Checkout   Shopping Cart (0 Items)  
Search:    Welcome Guest! Save up to 30-40% on most items with our awesome everyday discounts!

Purpose Driven Life: What on Earth Am I Here For? [Hardcover]

By Rick Warren (Author)
Find more in Series
Our Price $ 16.09  
Retail Value $ 22.99  
You Save $ 6.90  (30%)  
Item Number 20494  
Buy New $16.09
Out Of Stock!
Discontinued - Out Of Print
The manufacturer has discontinued this product and no longer offers it for sale. We are unable to obtain more stock.
Currently unavailable...

Item description for Purpose Driven Life: What on Earth Am I Here For? by Rick Warren...

The author of The Purpose-Driven Church explains that readers can best identify a life's purpose by understanding God's intentions, describing God's five purposes for everybody and how to fulfill them.

Publishers Description
Another Landmark Book by Rick WarrenYou are not an accident. Even before the universe was created, God had you in mind, and he planned you for his purposes. These purposes will extend far beyond the few years you will spend on earth. You were made to last forever!Self-help books often suggest that you try to discover the meaning and purpose of your life by looking within yourself, but Rick Warren says that is the wrong place to start. You must begin with God, your Creator, and his reasons for creating you. You were made by God and for God, and until you understand that, life will never make sense.This book will help you understand why you are alive and God’s amazing plan for you—both here and now, and for eternity. Rick Warren will guide you through a personal 40-day spiritual journey that will transform your answer to life’s most important question: What on earth am I here for? Knowing God’s purpose for creating you will reduce your stress, focus your energy, simplify your decisions, give meaning to your life, and, most importantly, prepare you for eternity.The Purpose-Driven™ Life is a blueprint for Christian living in the 21st century—a lifestyle based on God’s eternal purposes, not cultural values. Using over 1,200 scriptural quotes and references, it challenges the conventional definitions of worship, fellowship, discipleship, ministry, and evangelism. In the tradition of Oswald Chambers, Rick Warren offers distilled wisdom on the essence of what life is all about. This is a book of hope and challenge that you will read and re-read, and it will be a classic treasured by generations to come.

Promise Angels is dedicated to bringing you great books at great prices. Whether you read for entertainment, to learn, or for literacy - you will find what you want at!

Item Specifications...

Studio: Zondervan
Pages   334
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 9.48" Width: 5.86" Height: 1.23"
Weight:   1.3 lbs.
Binding  Hardcover
Release Date   Oct 8, 2002
Publisher   Zondervan Publishing
Series  Purpose Driven Life  
ISBN  0310205719  
ISBN13  9780310205715  
UPC  025986205713  

Availability  0 units.

More About Rick Warren

Rick Warren
Rick Warren
was born in San Jose, California, and founded (with one family) Saddleback Church in Lake Forest, California, in 1980. He earned a Bachelor of Arts degree from California Baptist University, a Master of Divinity from Southwestern Theological Seminary, and a Doctor of Ministry degree from Fuller Theological Seminary. Rick and his wife, Kay, live in Trabuco Canyon, California, and have three children.

Rick Warren currently resides in Orange County, in the state of California.

Rick Warren has published or released items in the following series...
  1. Daniel Plan
  2. Leadership Networks
  3. Living with Purpose (Hardcover)
  4. Next Steps
  5. Purpose Driven Life
  6. Purpose Driven Life S
  7. Purpose of Christmas
  8. Vivamos Con Proposito

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.

Product Categories

1Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Authors, A-Z > ( W ) > Warren, Rick
2Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Christianity > Christian Living > General
4Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Spirituality > General

Christian Product Categories
Books > Christian Living > Spiritual Growth > Spiritual Formation

Similar Products

Reviews - What do customers think about Purpose Driven Life?

Very Inspirational ! (\O/) < An Angel  Mar 30, 2007
All my Life I had the question of What On Earth Am I Here For ? I always felt my Life was worthless and I was just a waste of human organs and tissue. I struggled with Happiness most of my Life and often had attempts to kill myself. But when a friend handed me this book and said this is all you need. I seriously began reading this book and my Life page by page began to change. My views on things and the way I saw my Life just changed by reading a chapter each day. It brightened up my Life and as a lost Christian this book helped me find my way in Christian living. But as previous reviewer comments the book does have it's PROs and CONs. Overall it's a very Life Changing Book. Reading through Purpose #1 made tears come to my eyes cuz things I've struggled with for many years were all explained under Purpose #1. I just think read it and you'll see for yourself !
A good book to have on hand  Mar 29, 2007
This is my second personal copy. I have bought over 12 copies for family and close friends. They all have been grateful! Great spiritual reading for small groups who don't mind sharing pieces of their life.
The Purpose Driven Life  Mar 25, 2007
ISBN 0310205719 - I'll read almost any book, and really have an interest in anything related to any religion. That said, I truly disliked this book. Still, I'm basing my review on the writing itself. The writing is average and has the tone of being directed at a not-too-intelligent child, which is perhaps fitting - obviously Warren believes that few, if any, people really understand the lessons of the bible.

Meant to be read over a 40 day period, allowing the reader to ponder the questions posed by the author, The Purpose Driven Life serves literally no purpose whatsoever to the non-Christian - there's little for you to learn here that isn't better learned from scholarly texts on Christianity and, really, if you believe in God but not in Jesus-the-son-of-God (even if you believe in Jesus as a prophet), this book comes nowhere near talking to you. For the average Christian, it might spark an interest in re-visiting those things you thought you already knew about being a good Christian. And for the devout Christian, you don't need to read this book.

I was somewhat happily surprised to discover the author's hand in my pocket only a few times, encouraging the reader to buy his journal and other items. Truthfully, I expect more money-mooching from any religion, especially one in which you are commanded to tithe (page 72), so it was a pleasant surprise.

Mostly, I was offended by Warren's apparent assumption that the reader really is a nitwit. One of many examples: on page 65, he rails on about the "misuse" of the word "worship" - he is incorrect and could have simplified things by pointing out that one use of the word is a verb and another is an adjective, but he preferred to come across as a chastising and belittling second grade teacher.

Warren did show a sense of humor periodically, referring to Groucho Marx and "watching too much television". In the end, it's possible that he himself quoted the greatest reason to NOT read this book: "These people come near to me with their mouth and honor me with their lips, but their hearts are far from me. Their worship of me is made up only of rules taught by men." Last I checked, Warren was a man and his "roadmap" is just another re-tooling of "rules" taught by the men who lead any form of Christianity. I say keep your money and, if you really think God needs it, give it to your church, not Rick Warren.
This is a must read before you reach your final destination. Do you KNOW where you're going? I DO!
Direction  Mar 17, 2007
This is an excellent book for trying to find your way in the world. We all want to know why we are here and what we should be doing. The Purpose Driven Life provides a concrete roadmap for discerning your path. It has excellent questions that encourage you to take one real step at a time on that path. A must read!

Write your own review about Purpose Driven Life

Ask A Question or Provide Feedback regarding Purpose Driven Life

Item Feedback and Product Questions
For immediate assistance call 888.395.0572 during the hours of 10am thru 8pm EST Monday thru Friday and a customer care representative will be happy to help you!

Help us continuously improve our service by reporting your feedback or questions below:

I have a question regarding this product
The information above is incorrect or conflicting
The page has misspellings or incorrect grammar
The page did not load correctly in my browser or created an error.

Email Address:
Anti Spam Question. To combat spammers we require that you answer a simple question.
What color is the sky?
Leave This Blank :
Do Not Change This Text :

Add This Product Widget To Your Website

Looking to add this information to your own website? Then use our Product Widget to allow you to display product information in a frame that is 120 pixels wide by 240 pixels high.

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website and enjoy!

Order toll-free weekdays 10am thru 10pm EST by phone: 1-888-395-0572 (Lines are closed on holidays & weekends.)
Customer Service | My Account | Track My Orders | Return Policy | Request Free Catalog | Email Newsletter

Gift Certificates
RSS Feeds
About Us
Contact Us
Terms Of Use
Privacy Policy