Newsletter   Secure Checkout   Shopping Cart (0 Items)  
Search:    Welcome Guest! Save up to 30-40% on most items with our awesome everyday discounts!

Death on a Friday Afternoon: Meditations on the Last Words of Jesus from the Cross [Paperback]

By Richard John Neuhaus (Author)
Our Price $ 11.89  
Retail Value $ 16.99  
You Save $ 5.10  (30%)  
Item Number 157119  
Buy New $11.89
Available on the Internet only.

Item description for Death on a Friday Afternoon: Meditations on the Last Words of Jesus from the Cross by Richard John Neuhaus...

Explores some of Christianity's basic beliefs regarding sin and repentance while discussing the significance of the seven last words spoken by Christ himself. Reprint. 30,000 first printing.

Publishers Description
In the tradition of C.S. Lewis and Thomas Merton, this book is an enlightening journey through the meanings of Good Friday. Numerous writers and composers have been captivated by the suggestiveness of Jesus' Seven Last Words. But Richard John Neuhaus's sustained exploration of these utterances is something altogether different. Through them he plumbs the depths of human experience and sets forth the central narrative of Western civilization - the suffering, death, and resurrection of Christ - in a way that engages the attention of believers, unbelievers, and those who are not sure what they believe. Death on a Friday Afternoon is an invitation to the reader into a spiritual and intellectual exploration of the dark side of human experience with the promise of light and life on the far side of darkness.

Awards and Recognitions
Death on a Friday Afternoon: Meditations on the Last Words of Jesus from the Cross by Richard John Neuhaus has received the following awards and recognitions -
  • Christianity Today Book Award - 2001 Winner - Christian Living category

Promise Angels is dedicated to bringing you great books at great prices. Whether you read for entertainment, to learn, or for literacy - you will find what you want at!

Item Specifications...

Studio: Basic Books
Pages   304
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 7.9" Width: 5.2" Height: 1"
Weight:   1 lbs.
Binding  Softcover
Release Date   Feb 1, 2001
Publisher   Basic Books
Age  1-17
ISBN  0465049338  
ISBN13  9780465049332  

Availability  137 units.
Availability accurate as of Oct 22, 2016 04:09.
Usually ships within one to two business days from La Vergne, TN.
Orders shipping to an address other than a confirmed Credit Card / Paypal Billing address may incur and additional processing delay.

More About Richard John Neuhaus

Register your artisan biography and upload your photo! Richard John Neuhaus, one of the foremost authorities on religion in the contemporary world and president of the Institute on Religion and Public Life, is the editor-in-chief of "First Things." He was named one of the 25 Most Influential Evangelicals in America by "Time" Magazine. His many books include "Freedom for Ministry," "Death on a Friday Afternoon," and "As I Lay Dying." He is a priest of the Archdiocese of New York and lives in Manhattan."

Richard John Neuhaus currently resides in New York City, in the state of New York.

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.

Product Categories

1Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Christianity > Catholicism

Christian Product Categories
Books > Church & Ministry > Church Life > Roman Catholic

Similar Products

Reviews - What do customers think about Death on a Friday Afternoon: Meditations on the Last Words of Jesus from the Cross?

This book can change your life!  Apr 5, 2008
I first read this book the year it was published. I have re-read it every year since and I always find new insight. For those who simply cannot accept Jesus Christ and His necessary sacrifice, or do not understand what His Passion meant and still means, this book will turn the light on for you.

Lenten Meditation  Aug 27, 2006
I bought this book as a guided meditation during Lent one year, but I have kept coming back to it year after year. Fr. Neuhaus knows how to cut to the heart of the matter and really make us think about our lives. Ever since high school, I've had a practice of "giving up something" for Lent. However, recently I've found that "adding something", especially something as powerful as the meditations in this book, help me to prepare much better for the Easter celebration.

Of course, you don't have to wait until Lent to be moved by the power of Fr. Neuhaus's message. I recommend this book at any time during the year.
A profound meditation  Mar 31, 2006
My first encounter with Fr. Neuhaus's writing came through the pages of "First Things", a magazine on the role of religion in public life. His penetrating insights and carefully crafted arguments are true gems of wisdom. I've come to appreciate them and depend on his daily reflections on current issues the way some people depend on a shot of caffeine to get them through a day.

This book, however, is written in a completely different style and with a very different aim. Here we see a more spiritual and meditative side of Fr. Neuhaus, and I, for one, am grateful for this insight. Here he contemplates the seven last words of Christ, devoting a chapter to each one of them. His aim is to takes us deeper into the mystery of crucifixion and the death of Christ, and to resist the temptation to just rush over to Easter. The book can be used as a devotional aid, and would be a good companion reading material during Lent.

The meditative nature of the book does not prevent Fr. Neuhaus from making and defending some theologically strong positions. The greatest, and for non-Christians probably the most controversial, claim is that "[i]f what Christians say about Good Friday is true, then it is, quite simply, the truth about everything." The purpose of this statements is not necessarily to argue a theological position, but to bring urgency and highlight the importance of what happened on that Friday afternoon. In reading this book we can make one big step closer to that goal.
"Saving Private Ryan" and the crucifixion  Mar 17, 2006
This is one of the most profoundly moving books I have ever read. I re-read it every year during lent, and it never fails to move me in the same was as before. Here is why.

In the final scene of "Saving Private Ryan," Ryan himself, now much older, is visiting the grave of the soldier who saved him. He recalls the final words of the dying soldier who rescued him, a plea to make his life worthy of the sacrifice being given. In tears, he asks his wife whether he has in fact lived his life in a way that justifies that sacrifice.

Although "Death on a Friday Afternoon" is far too complex and nuanced to be summarized succinctly, one of its objectives (which it fulfills admirably) is to look its reader directly in the face and ask, "Are you in fact living your life in a way that justifies the sacrifice that Jesus made to save it?"

Two brief excerpts provide a glimpse of this book's seriousness and importance:

"Our lives are measured not by the lives of others, not by our own ideals, not by what we think might reasonably be expected of us, although by each of those measures we acknowledge failings enough. Our lives are measured by who we are created and called to be, and the measuring is done by the One who creates and calls. . ."

"To belittle our sins is to belittle ourselves, to belittle who it is that God creates and calls us to be."

This book is a call to seriousness about living our lives in response to what God has done for us.

There is much more as well. Don't miss it.
don't skip right to Easter and forget Good Friday  Sep 12, 2003
This is a wonderful book, written with patience, love, and care--written, at times, prayerfully and poetically. In contemplating our Christian faith, Neuhaus urges us not to skip Good Friday and go right to Easter and the joy of the Resurrection (though it IS joyful). Rather, we must reflect on the Crucifixion, on His death, without which there could have been no Resurrection and without which there would be no redemption. Some outsiders and even many Christians find the Crucifixion morbid and shy away from pondering it, but it is meant to shock and disturb. (This was not lost on Dostoevsky, who has some excellent passages and descriptions of the crucified Christ in The Idiot.) It was a death and murder, one in which we all are complicit. We must understand this before we can hope to understand the meaning of His death.

Neuhaus uses the seven last "words" (utterances, really) of Christ to explore the nature of His life and death, as well as the nature of our own lives and deaths. Tangentially, he comments on our culture and society, on permissivity and the like--ideas that will be familiar to readers of First Things. But this is primarily a book on religion, not politics. Nor is it an exposition of theology. Neuhaus avoids the often complicated and difficult-to-understand theological matters (and debates) that surround Christ's life, death, and resurrection, as well as the implications for us. Certainly, Neuhaus adheres to his--which is to say, the Catholic Church's--interpretation, but here he seeks to get to the foundations of Christianity. The result is something all Christians--and, indeed, anyone desiring to understand the faith--can enjoy and appreciate.

Write your own review about Death on a Friday Afternoon: Meditations on the Last Words of Jesus from the Cross

Ask A Question or Provide Feedback regarding Death on a Friday Afternoon: Meditations on the Last Words of Jesus from the Cross

Item Feedback and Product Questions
For immediate assistance call 888.395.0572 during the hours of 10am thru 8pm EST Monday thru Friday and a customer care representative will be happy to help you!

Help us continuously improve our service by reporting your feedback or questions below:

I have a question regarding this product
The information above is incorrect or conflicting
The page has misspellings or incorrect grammar
The page did not load correctly in my browser or created an error.

Email Address:
Anti Spam Question. To combat spammers we require that you answer a simple question.
What color is the sky?
Leave This Blank :
Do Not Change This Text :

Add This Product Widget To Your Website

Looking to add this information to your own website? Then use our Product Widget to allow you to display product information in a frame that is 120 pixels wide by 240 pixels high.

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website and enjoy!

Order toll-free weekdays 10am thru 10pm EST by phone: 1-888-395-0572 (Lines are closed on holidays & weekends.)
Customer Service | My Account | Track My Orders | Return Policy | Request Free Catalog | Email Newsletter

Gift Certificates
RSS Feeds
About Us
Contact Us
Terms Of Use
Privacy Policy