Newsletter   Secure Checkout   Shopping Cart (0 Items)  
Search:    Welcome Guest! Save up to 30-40% on most items with our awesome everyday discounts!

Cry Wolf: A Political Fable [Paperback]

Our Price $ 9.07  
Retail Value $ 12.95  
You Save $ 3.89  (30%)  
Item Number 246343  
Buy New $9.07
Out Of Stock!
Currently Out Of Stock
Currently unavailable...

Item description for Cry Wolf: A Political Fable by Paul Lake...

The animals of Green Pastures Farm pride themselves on their domestication and their ability to protect their home and families from the wild animals that live beyond their fence. A sign posted throughout the farm, left from the days before their human master passed away, provides their most sacred commandment: NO TRESPASSING.
That is, until an injured doe arrives on the farm and, ignoring their own laws, the animals allow her to stay. This choice is just the first of many as the animals are confronted by a series of difficult decisions that gradually loosen their grip on the farm and threaten their lives.
Cry Wolf is an Animal Farm for the 21st century: an allegory of the political challenges we face in post-9/11 America. The farm animals' struggle to maintain their way of life against an influx of change is a powerful commentary on the importance of balancing freedom with justice and on how easily even the best of intentions can destroy a community too caught up with what is "fair" to do what is right.

Promise Angels is dedicated to bringing you great books at great prices. Whether you read for entertainment, to learn, or for literacy - you will find what you want at!

Item Specifications...

Pages   224
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 8.9" Width: 5.9" Height: 0.7"
Weight:   0.65 lbs.
Binding  Softcover
Release Date   Jun 1, 2008
Publisher   Benbella Books
ISBN  1933771429  
ISBN13  9781933771427  

Availability  0 units.

More About Paul Lake

Register your artisan biography and upload your photo! Paul Lake is an English and creative writing professor at Arkansas Tech University and the poetry editor of "First Things," He is the author of "Among the Immortals," "Another Kind of Travel," and "Walking Backward," He lives in Russellville, Arkansas.

Paul Lake currently resides in the state of Arkansas. Paul Lake was born in 1951.

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.

Product Categories

1Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > General > Contemporary
2Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > General
3Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > Genre Fiction > Political

Reviews - What do customers think about Cry Wolf: A Political Fable?

Scary but VERY necessary book.  Sep 13, 2008
I read 'Cry Wolf' at the recommendation of someone at a conservative web forum. I must say, I'm glad I heeded that recommendation. 'Cry Wolf' is an amazing book which is as effective of a political satire as the book which pretty clearly inspired it: George Orwell's legendary 'Animal Farm.' I earnestly hope 'Cry Wolf' becomes as famous as 'Animal Farm' has, because its message needs to get out to the people.
Unlike the farm in 'Animal Farm,' which was an allegory for the Soviet Union, the farm in 'Cry Wolf' was an obvious allegory for both the USA and the United Kingdom. While 'Animal Farm' was a critique mainly of Communism under Stalin, 'Cry Wolf' is a critique of several things; Identity politics, society's ever- growing obsession with political correctness, and the big issue tackled is the problem of unregulated immigration.
This is a book which takes you on a full range of emotions. It is happy and hopeful in the beginning, as we see the mostly content and efficient lives the domesticated farm animals have established for themselves. Then, as things begin to steadily unravel, things go from angering, to disturbing as you see how much situations in America and England are reflected by the events unfolding in the books, before leading to a finale that is flat- out terrifying. The last few chapters are scary as hell, partly because they are so gruesome and graphic in some of their descriptions of events, but mainly because they paint a pretty probable depiction of what our futures may very well become as a result of the way things are currently going if nothing is done (Especially in the UK).
A further strength of 'Cry Wolf' is that Paul Lake in no way implies that ALL immigration is bad. We learn that one of the farm's dogs, Duke, was not born on the farm, but came there after getting lost from his hunter master, was allowed to stay because he had the mind of a tame animal, and proved to be a brave, loyal, and quite helpful member of the farm's community. Including this further reinforces that Lake is not at all a xenophobe, but rather realizes how dangerous unchecked and fully unregulated immigration can be.
So, to all who can find or order 'Cry Wolf,' (Especially my fellow conservatives), I strongly suggest you get it. Just be careful: You all may very well see a little of yourselves in the characters of this fascinating book.
A Lyrical Condemnation of Politically Correct Thought.  Jun 16, 2008
Cry Wolf by Paul Lake is an astonishing book. Not only is it an unflinching look at the destructive nature of political correctness but it also offers the reader a lyrical story telling experience.

In the tradition of Animal Farm, Lake's story unfolds on a peaceful farm that has passed into the care of domestic animals after the death of the human owner. The animals cooperate to solve the problems of sowing and reaping, defense, education, and the creation of a rule of law.

The first law is that of No Trespassing. Fences are maintained and dogs patrol the borders to keep out wild animals that would kill the farm residents or destroy the vital crops. When the animals make a compassionate decision to provide temporary refuge to a wounded doe, they take the first unthinking step toward the destruction of everything they hold dear.

Cry Wolf examines a number of issues that are eroding our ability to think clearly and reasonably. The stifling imposition of politically correct speech, the reframing of issues, the post modern attachment to ethical relativism, and the descent into tribalism through ethnicity are only a few of the issues woven through Lake's haunting story.

You will not only see the teachers, the politicians, the academics, the judges, and the activists in Lake's book - you will see yourself. That sight may be clearer and harsher than you have been used to seeing in a very long time.

Cry Wolf will have you mulling over the creeping suppression of free speech that is slowly crushing dissent in the United States. It will surprise you with its insights into all too human character. It will entrance you with its prose and characters. It will greatly disturb you. It will do what good books always do - it will make you think.

Write your own review about Cry Wolf: A Political Fable

Ask A Question or Provide Feedback regarding Cry Wolf: A Political Fable

Item Feedback and Product Questions
For immediate assistance call 888.395.0572 during the hours of 10am thru 8pm EST Monday thru Friday and a customer care representative will be happy to help you!

Help us continuously improve our service by reporting your feedback or questions below:

I have a question regarding this product
The information above is incorrect or conflicting
The page has misspellings or incorrect grammar
The page did not load correctly in my browser or created an error.

Email Address:
Anti Spam Question. To combat spammers we require that you answer a simple question.
What color is the sky?
Leave This Blank :
Do Not Change This Text :

Add This Product Widget To Your Website

Looking to add this information to your own website? Then use our Product Widget to allow you to display product information in a frame that is 120 pixels wide by 240 pixels high.

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website and enjoy!

Order toll-free weekdays 10am thru 10pm EST by phone: 1-888-395-0572 (Lines are closed on holidays & weekends.)
Customer Service | My Account | Track My Orders | Return Policy | Request Free Catalog | Email Newsletter

Gift Certificates
RSS Feeds
About Us
Contact Us
Terms Of Use
Privacy Policy