Newsletter   Secure Checkout   Shopping Cart (0 Items)  
Search:    Welcome Guest! Save up to 30-40% on most items with our awesome everyday discounts!

This Heavy Silence (Center Point Premier Fiction (Large Print))

By Nicole Mazzarella (Author)
Our Price $ 20.97  
Retail Value $ 29.95  
You Save $ 8.99  (30%)  
Item Number 95860  
Buy New $20.97
Out Of Stock!
Currently Out Of Stock
Currently unavailable...

Item description for This Heavy Silence (Center Point Premier Fiction (Large Print)) by Nicole Mazzarella...

When Dottie Connell adopts her best friend's daughter out of a combination of spite and loyalty, she must confront her ideas on motherhood, sexuality, and God.

Publishers Description
When Dottie Connell adopts her best friend's daughter out of a combination of spite and loyalty, she must confront her ideas on motherhood, sexuality, and God. This Heavy Silence explores the mysteries of grace, the bargaining of birthright and the power of vows?both the vows we make to others, and, more binding, those we make to ourselves. Evoking the hardship, windswept beauty and simplicity of life in the rural Midwest, this beautifully observed debut novel leads us to question our ideas about motherhood, the obligations of family, and faith. It will appeal to readers of A Map of the World and Gap Greek.

Promise Angels is dedicated to bringing you great books at great prices. Whether you read for entertainment, to learn, or for literacy - you will find what you want at!

Item Specifications...

Format: Large Print
Studio: Center Point Large Print
Pages   256
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 8.64" Width: 6.12" Height: 0.8"
Weight:   0.91 lbs.
Binding  Library Binding
Release Date   Mar 30, 2006
Publisher   Center Point Large Print
ISBN  1585477303  
ISBN13  9781585477302  

Availability  0 units.

More About Nicole Mazzarella

Register your artisan biography and upload your photo! Nicole Mazzarella teaches creative writing at Wheaton College in Illinois. This Heavy Silence is her first novel. She lives with her husband in Wheaton, Illinois.

Nicole Mazzarella currently resides in Wheaton, in the state of Illinois.

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.

Product Categories

1Books > Large Print > Children's Books
2Books > Large Print > Large Print
3Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > General > Contemporary
4Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Christianity > Fiction & Poetry > Fiction > General

Similar Products

Reviews - What do customers think about This Heavy Silence (Center Point Premier Fiction (Large Print))?

Refreshingly honest story  Jun 18, 2006
I bought this book after I met the author at a book fair and heard that it was set in and around my hometown. I was pleasantly surprised to find a captivating story sensitively written. Even though the main character is a cold woman, she is imbued with a humanity that impels you to care about her. With measured and accurate detail, the author breathes life into the farm, the towns, and the people that shape our heroine's existence. The writing style has a clarity and loveliness that is refreshing. Most importantly, the characters in this novel actually have souls, which I find lacking in most contemporary fiction. I highly recommend it, and I look forward to reading more from this new author!
Disappointed  Jun 3, 2006
I bought this book after Christianity Today chose it as one of the best Christian books of the year. I was very disappointed. The main character, Dottie, is unsympathetic. She is a cold, hard woman who loves a farm more than any person in her life. She makes a series of selfish decisions and then reaps the consequences. She makes a few pathetic attempts at redemption toward the end of the book, but it almost seems like an afterthought by the author. The book left me annoyed for wasting the time reading it. Really, by the middle of the book, I could care less what happened to Dottie and felt badly for the people she had hurt along the way.
Great Book!!  Dec 1, 2005
I loved the book! Mazzarella does a great job creating this characters and making them believable. The stories ending was perfect.
You must read this book!  Nov 28, 2005
I couldn't put it down! An honest examination of the choices we make and the consequences of those choices. Mazzarella examines a universal truth, that we often make decisions out of fear rather than love. She investigates the reality that we are often held captive by our own trepidations, rather than breaking free from fear and living out of love. Mazzarella's exploration of love and the corrosion of love when saturated with pride is one of the most convicting fiction novels I have ever read. This is a must read!
worth every one of the 5 stars  Oct 4, 2005
Mazzarella knows how to write without insulting the intelligence of the reader. She's a brilliant author. It was a challenge to keep believing that this story was fiction. Her characters are like me - and like my friends and my neighbors - and nothing is pat or trite - people making dumb decisions bringing about painful consequences but moving by the grace of God to slow reconciliation. This is one author who has abley told the truth via fiction. It inspired me to tears - a first. One of Mazzarella's sentences "Clean was more convincing without a smell."clearly shows her ability to be simple and profound ----Fiction is more convincing without fluff.

Write your own review about This Heavy Silence (Center Point Premier Fiction (Large Print))

Ask A Question or Provide Feedback regarding This Heavy Silence (Center Point Premier Fiction (Large Print))

Item Feedback and Product Questions
For immediate assistance call 888.395.0572 during the hours of 10am thru 8pm EST Monday thru Friday and a customer care representative will be happy to help you!

Help us continuously improve our service by reporting your feedback or questions below:

I have a question regarding this product
The information above is incorrect or conflicting
The page has misspellings or incorrect grammar
The page did not load correctly in my browser or created an error.

Email Address:
Anti Spam Question. To combat spammers we require that you answer a simple question.
What color is the sky?
Leave This Blank :
Do Not Change This Text :

Add This Product Widget To Your Website

Looking to add this information to your own website? Then use our Product Widget to allow you to display product information in a frame that is 120 pixels wide by 240 pixels high.

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website and enjoy!

Order toll-free weekdays 10am thru 10pm EST by phone: 1-888-395-0572 (Lines are closed on holidays & weekends.)
Customer Service | My Account | Track My Orders | Return Policy | Request Free Catalog | Email Newsletter

Gift Certificates
RSS Feeds
About Us
Contact Us
Terms Of Use
Privacy Policy