Newsletter   Secure Checkout   Shopping Cart (0 Items)  
Search:    Welcome Guest! Save up to 30-40% on most items with our awesome everyday discounts!

John: A Novel [Hardcover]

By Niall Williams (Author)
Our Price $ 17.47  
Retail Value $ 24.95  
You Save $ 7.49  (30%)  
Item Number 98297  
Buy New $17.47
Out Of Stock!
Currently Out Of Stock
Currently unavailable...

Item description for John: A Novel by Niall Williams...

In the tradition of Jim Crace's Quarantine and Anita Diamant's The Red Tent, John is a stunning, lyrical reimagining of John the Apostle in the final years of his life, by the critically acclaimed and bestselling author of Four Letters of Love.

At a time when Americans remain skeptical about religion but still thirst for spiritual fulfillment, Niall Williams's extraordinary and masterful new novel reveals a universally appealing message of hope and love.

In the years following the death of Jesus Christ, John the Apostle, now a frail, blind old man, lives in forced exile on the desolate island of Patmos with a small group of his disciples. Together, the group has endured their banishment, but after years awaiting Christ's return, fissures form within their faith, and, inevitably, one of John's followers disavows Christ's divinity and breaks away from the community, threatening to change the course of Christianity. When the Roman emperor lifts the banishment of Christians, John and his followers are permitted to return to Ephesus, a chaotic world of competing religious sects where Christianity is in danger of vanishing. It is against this turbulent background—and inspired by Jesus's radical message of love and forgiveness—that John comes to dictate his Gospel.

Immensely impressive—and based on actual historical events—John is at once an ambitious and provocative reimagining of the last surviving apostle and a powerful look at faith and how it lives and dies in the hearts of men.

Promise Angels is dedicated to bringing you great books at great prices. Whether you read for entertainment, to learn, or for literacy - you will find what you want at!

Item Specifications...

Studio: Bloomsbury USA
Pages   288
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 9.52" Width: 6.36" Height: 1.07"
Weight:   1.2 lbs.
Binding  Hardcover
Release Date   Feb 28, 2008
Publisher   Bloomsbury USA
ISBN  159691467X  
ISBN13  9781596914674  

Availability  0 units.

More About Niall Williams

Register your artisan biography and upload your photo! Niall Williams's work includes stage plays, screenplays, nonfiction (co-written with his wife, Christine Breen), and eight novels. He has twice been longlisted for the IMPAC Dublin Literary Award and his latest novel, History of the Rain, was longlisted for the Man Booker Prize. Four Letters of Love, his first novel, was an international bestseller upon publication, translated into over twenty languages, and a New York Times Notable Book of the Year. Williams lives in the west of Ireland.

Niall Williams currently resides in County Clare. Niall Williams was born in 1958.

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.

Product Categories

1Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > General > Contemporary
2Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > General
3Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > Genre Fiction > Historical

Reviews - What do customers think about John: A Novel?

Amazing being there  Mar 15, 2008
This is the first book I've read by Niall Williams. He is an amazing writer. He plays with vocabulary and sentence structure and somehow (without being gimmicky) transports you back 2,000 years ago, on the island of Patmos, living day by day, in faith, beside the apostle John. You live humbly and expectantly awaiting the return of Christ. Heresies arise. John gets old. I don't want to give anything away, but it is an amazing, literary book that goes to your heart. I finished it a week ago and am still thinking about it. It's a bit of a slow read, but it builds wonderfully. I think non-Christians won't "get" it...but any person of faith, who understands the power of the word of God will love this book.

--Steve Slesinger, Melbourne, FL

Write your own review about John: A Novel

Ask A Question or Provide Feedback regarding John: A Novel

Item Feedback and Product Questions
For immediate assistance call 888.395.0572 during the hours of 10am thru 8pm EST Monday thru Friday and a customer care representative will be happy to help you!

Help us continuously improve our service by reporting your feedback or questions below:

I have a question regarding this product
The information above is incorrect or conflicting
The page has misspellings or incorrect grammar
The page did not load correctly in my browser or created an error.

Email Address:
Anti Spam Question. To combat spammers we require that you answer a simple question.
What color is the sky?
Leave This Blank :
Do Not Change This Text :

Add This Product Widget To Your Website

Looking to add this information to your own website? Then use our Product Widget to allow you to display product information in a frame that is 120 pixels wide by 240 pixels high.

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website and enjoy!

Order toll-free weekdays 10am thru 10pm EST by phone: 1-888-395-0572 (Lines are closed on holidays & weekends.)
Customer Service | My Account | Track My Orders | Return Policy | Request Free Catalog | Email Newsletter

Gift Certificates
RSS Feeds
About Us
Contact Us
Terms Of Use
Privacy Policy