Newsletter   Secure Checkout   Shopping Cart (0 Items)  
Search:    Welcome Guest! Save up to 30-40% on most items with our awesome everyday discounts!

Travel Light (Peapod Classics) [Paperback]

Our Price $ 8.40  
Retail Value $ 12.00  
You Save $ 3.60  (30%)  
Item Number 260305  
Buy New $8.40
Out Of Stock!
Currently Out Of Stock
Currently unavailable...

Item description for Travel Light (Peapod Classics) by Naomi Mitchison...

"No one knows better how to spin a fairy tale than Naomi Mitchison."-The Observer

"Read it now."-Ursula K. Le Guin

"You will love this book."-Holly Black

From the dark ages to modern times, from the dragons of medieval forests to Constantinople, this is a fantastic and philosophical fairy-tale journey that will appeal to fans of Harry Potter, Diana Wynne Jones, and T. H. White's The Sword in the Stone.

Promise Angels is dedicated to bringing you great books at great prices. Whether you read for entertainment, to learn, or for literacy - you will find what you want at!

Item Specifications...

Pages   135
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 0.5" Width: 5.75" Height: 7.25"
Weight:   0.4 lbs.
Binding  Softcover
Release Date   Jul 10, 2005
Publisher   Small Beer Press
ISBN  1931520143  
ISBN13  9781931520140  

Availability  0 units.

More About Naomi Mitchison

Register your artisan biography and upload your photo! Naomi Mitchison, author of over 70 books, died in 1999 at the age of 101. She was born in, and lived in, Scotland but traveled widely throughout the world. In the 1960s she was adopted as adviser and mother of the Bakgatla tribe in Botswana.

Naomi Mitchison was born in 1897 and died in 1999.

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.

Product Categories

1Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > Classics
2Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > General > Classics
3Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > General > Contemporary
4Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > World Literature > Mythology > General

Reviews - What do customers think about Travel Light (Peapod Classics)?

excellent reprint of a 1950s young adult fantasy   Sep 30, 2006
The new Queen took one loathing look at her dead predecessor's daughter and informed her spouse the King that the infant must go. The monarch not interested in female offspring or reminders of his late wife agrees so before she can crawl Princess Halla is tossed out of the castle to die. Her shapeshifting nurse turns into a bear to save her charge and takes Halla into the woods to live with her and her bear kin.

However, no one is available to tend to the child during hibernation until an aging dragon arrives changing the youngster from Halla Bearsbairn to Halla Heroesbane. She soars with her dragon who takes the human child to the dragon lair where they teach her their ways including abducting maidens. As the years pass, Halla looks forward to her wings, but they never arrive so she knows she must move on though she loves her mentors especially after her beloved Uggi dies. As a new religion based on the teachings of the Christ begins to move across the continent, Halla's adventures continue. these enabling her to become human and more than human.

Fans of Potter will enjoy this excellent reprint of a 1950s young adult fantasy starring a wonderful heroine and a terrific support cast who makes shapeshifters and dragons seem real. The story line is more a coming of age series of vignettes in the life of Halla with her fifteen adventures fun to follow especially soaring with dragons. Fans will appreciate this fine tale of a heroic child and the "heroes" who adopt her.

Harriet Klausner
Life on heavenly roads  Jul 20, 2000
This book is a magical gem that transports the reader to the mythopoetic era, when angelic beings interact freely with ordinary mortals.

If you want to gain vision into paradise, lost or found, read this little beauty. Your mind will expand as you stretch your wings in the pages of this world. This parable teaches lessons that may take a person a lifetime to appreciate.

A magical tale of quest and transformation  May 29, 1999
This slender book, first published in 1952, should be of interest both to the curious reader and to Naomi Mitchison fans. This is a story about magic, transformation and quest. In some respects it resembles Mitchison's much earlier novel, The Corn King and the Spring Queen, though more through thematic similarities than the style of writing. Both books have an engaging central heroine and both involve travel between various lands, actual and invented by the author herself, and both deal with religion and mystical forces. Travel Light, however, is suitable for young adults as well as grown-up readers. It is written in clear, precise English (which, admittedly, does come across as somewhat old-fashioned now). The tone of the writing is tinged with a certain sadness. But Travel Light it is not an even vaguely depressing book - the story is full of magic and mystery! The references to bears and dragons made me think of the sagas of Norse mythology (there are many fairy tale elements too) and, as ever with Naomi Mitchison's historical novels, the reader finds him or herself fully immersed in a captivating alien word. Travel Light a charming book which offers an easy read full of many pleasures.

Write your own review about Travel Light (Peapod Classics)

Ask A Question or Provide Feedback regarding Travel Light (Peapod Classics)

Item Feedback and Product Questions
For immediate assistance call 888.395.0572 during the hours of 10am thru 8pm EST Monday thru Friday and a customer care representative will be happy to help you!

Help us continuously improve our service by reporting your feedback or questions below:

I have a question regarding this product
The information above is incorrect or conflicting
The page has misspellings or incorrect grammar
The page did not load correctly in my browser or created an error.

Email Address:
Anti Spam Question. To combat spammers we require that you answer a simple question.
What color is the sky?
Leave This Blank :
Do Not Change This Text :

Add This Product Widget To Your Website

Looking to add this information to your own website? Then use our Product Widget to allow you to display product information in a frame that is 120 pixels wide by 240 pixels high.

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website and enjoy!

Order toll-free weekdays 10am thru 10pm EST by phone: 1-888-395-0572 (Lines are closed on holidays & weekends.)
Customer Service | My Account | Track My Orders | Return Policy | Request Free Catalog | Email Newsletter

Gift Certificates
RSS Feeds
About Us
Contact Us
Terms Of Use
Privacy Policy