Newsletter   Secure Checkout   Shopping Cart (0 Items)  
Search:    Welcome Guest! Save up to 30-40% on most items with our awesome everyday discounts!

Astronauts In Trouble [Paperback]

Our Price $ 11.86  
Retail Value $ 16.95  
You Save $ 5.09  (30%)  
Item Number 257554  
Buy New $11.86
Out Of Stock!
Currently Out Of Stock
Currently unavailable...

Item description for Astronauts In Trouble by Larry Young, Charlie Adlard & Matt Smith...

The critically acclaimed series is now collected! All three stories are included: Live From The Moon, Space: 1959, and One Shot, One Beer, as well as short stories by Brian Wood, Kieron Dwyer, and Darick Robertson.

Promise Angels is dedicated to bringing you great books at great prices. Whether you read for entertainment, to learn, or for literacy - you will find what you want at!

Item Specifications...

Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 0.5" Width: 5.5" Height: 8.25"
Weight:   0.8 lbs.
Binding  Softcover
Release Date   Oct 22, 2003
Publisher   AiT/PlanetLar
ISBN  1932051163  
ISBN13  9781932051162  

Availability  0 units.

More About Larry Young, Charlie Adlard & Matt Smith

Register your artisan biography and upload your photo! Larry Young, PhD, is the director of the Center for Translational Social Neuroscience, the William P. Timmie Professor of Psychiatry at Emory University School of Medicine, and chief of the Division of Behavioral Neuroscience and Psychiatric Disorders at Yerkes National Primate Research Center. He lives in Atlanta.

Brian Alexander is an award-winning journalist and the author of several books, including "Rapture: How Biotech Became the New Religion "and "America Unzipped: The Search for Sex and Satisfaction. "He lives in San Diego."

Larry Young currently resides in San Francisco, in the state of California.

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.

Product Categories

1Books > Subjects > Children > Literature > Science Fiction, Fantasy, Mystery & Horror > Children's Comics
2Books > Subjects > Comics & Graphic Novels > General
3Books > Subjects > Comics & Graphic Novels > Graphic Novels > General
4Books > Subjects > Comics & Graphic Novels > Graphic Novels > Graphic Novels
5Books > Subjects > Teens > Science Fiction & Fantasy > Science Fiction

Reviews - What do customers think about Astronauts In Trouble?

Great thought-provoking entertainment!  Aug 3, 2007
I can't believe it took me so long to get this and read it.
Kudos to Author Young for putting together an interesting story and then a prequel and sequel that do it justice. What fun!
Highly recommended for fans of Space Travel, Science Fiction, Graphic Novels, Robots, Rockets, Reading & Drinking.

You had me at "Astronauts..."
Lost in Space  Nov 23, 2005
This book collects the three different "Astronauts in Trouble" series into an attractive, compact format. The rich stories feature sharp, stark black and white inking that does an excellent job of varying the level of detail from exacting to suggestive. And while many artists might have been tempted to go crazy with the techno aspects of the space storylines, Adlard is admirably restrained. However, production-wise, there are three areas for improvement: First, in a collection this long, there's no excuse for not having page numbers, especially when the layout allows plenty of margin to do so. Second, a dust jacket to tempt the browser with something visually arresting and make them want to open the covers (as the original series covers did). Here, they've gone the conceptual route, with a blah cover that's supposed to look like a government document -- sometimes clever concepts should remain as concepts. Finally, the paper stock is kind of cheap, with poor opacity, resulting in a lot of "see-through" inking from the reverse of pages. On to the the storytelling...

Set in the not-to-distant future, "Live from the Moon" opens rather confusingly with an underwater hostage situation involving a news team confronting an ecoterrorist. The Channel Seven trio (cameraman, producer, reporter) escape by the skin of their teeth, establishing them as a news crew that lives dangerously. We next find them in Georgia, waiting to interview megabillioniare industrialist Ishmael Hayes about his latest venture. They're a little stunned to be introduced to his private lunar expedition, and more stunned when they find themselves along for a ride to the moon when an ecoterrorist causes a premature launch. Events get even more interesting when they discover his plan to stake claim to the entire moon... but when some gangsters back on Earth decide to launch Ukrainian nukes at them, things go from bad to worse. It's a very convoluted tale with a lot of "huh?" moments (SPOILER ALERT: Would old Soviet nukes actually be able to reach the moon? Would a short burst from a directional antenna actually divert including missiles? And if Hayes actually controls the ecoterrorists, why did he allow them to affect his operation?), but plenty of wit and style. The dialogue is especially good, and tends to distract from the plot holes.

"Space: 1959" steps back a generation to the dawn of mobile television news, where an earlier (but strikingly similar) crew from Channel Seven plays detective. A seemingly innocuous downtown shooting puts them on the track of a secret government plan to beat the USSR to the moon. At a rocket base in Peru they meet Col. Macadam, a square-jawed, crew-cut, gung-ho '50s hero who won't let anyone interfere with his pet project. As in the first story, an infiltrator sabotages the plan, and Macadam must make the ultimate sacrifice to ensure no dirty commie is first to set foot on the moon. It's somewhat schizophrenic (intentionally so, according to the intro), starting as a kind of classic crime caper, then moving into pulp action/adventure, and ending in a long contemplative sequence.

"One Shot, One Beer" is the most whimsical portion of the collection, taking place a decade after "Live From the Moon." At Cool Ed's lunar bar, where they have "the only Guinness on tap for 240,000 miles", a bunch of barflies sit around swapping stories. These include an accidental bank heist, a Japanese folk tale, a Sherpa's encounter with Col. Macadam long ago, and a few more bits and pieces that dovetail with the two previous entries in the series. At the core of is a lengthy "insider's" story about what happened ten years ago with all that "Hayes stuff." A miner who worked on Hayes' subsurface excavation gives his own account of how the "Live From the Moon" events played out, and his own role in almost destroying the entire base. It's a nice ending to the book, and the robot bar owner is especially amusing.

Five microcomics based on "Astronauts in Trouble" and written by creator Larry Young round things out, but don't add much to the proceedings. All in all, it's a solid piece of work blending action, sci-fi, and humor -- definitely likely to appeal to those with a real interest in astronauts (duh!). Young deserves kudos for creating a series that spans generations and genres in a refreshing manner.

Write your own review about Astronauts In Trouble

Ask A Question or Provide Feedback regarding Astronauts In Trouble

Item Feedback and Product Questions
For immediate assistance call 888.395.0572 during the hours of 10am thru 8pm EST Monday thru Friday and a customer care representative will be happy to help you!

Help us continuously improve our service by reporting your feedback or questions below:

I have a question regarding this product
The information above is incorrect or conflicting
The page has misspellings or incorrect grammar
The page did not load correctly in my browser or created an error.

Email Address:
Anti Spam Question. To combat spammers we require that you answer a simple question.
What color is the sky?
Leave This Blank :
Do Not Change This Text :

Add This Product Widget To Your Website

Looking to add this information to your own website? Then use our Product Widget to allow you to display product information in a frame that is 120 pixels wide by 240 pixels high.

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website and enjoy!

Order toll-free weekdays 10am thru 10pm EST by phone: 1-888-395-0572 (Lines are closed on holidays & weekends.)
Customer Service | My Account | Track My Orders | Return Policy | Request Free Catalog | Email Newsletter

Gift Certificates
RSS Feeds
About Us
Contact Us
Terms Of Use
Privacy Policy