Newsletter   Secure Checkout   Shopping Cart (0 Items)  
Search:    Welcome Guest! Save up to 30-40% on most items with our awesome everyday discounts!

Bicycles Locked to Poles [Paperback]

By John Glassie (Photographer)
Our Price $ 9.80  
Retail Value $ 14.00  
You Save $ 4.20  (30%)  
Item Number 255087  
Buy New $9.80
Out Of Stock!
Currently Out Of Stock
Currently unavailable...

Item description for Bicycles Locked to Poles by John Glassie...

This mournful but pleasing collection features many of the best photographs of bicycles locked to poles ever taken. Shot using an old-fashioned 35mm Nikon, the photos here follow in the tradition of John James Audubon, Bernd and Hilla Becher, the Peterson Field Guides, and The Observer's Book of Steam Locomotives.

Bicycles Locked to Poles began in early 2001, when a magenta arrow - spray-painted on the sidewalk by a representative of the electrical utility --- pointed directly to the sadly bent, Dali-esque wheel of a bicycle on the photographer's street. Glassie passed by every day for months, until one day it was gone. He has been documenting bicycles locked to poles, bent, broken and otherwise, in and around his East Village neighborhood of New York ever since.

This volume presents a careful selection from Glassie's collection of over a thousand color photographs, as well as a graphical guide to present, damaged, and missing bicycle parts, and a quote from Marvin Minsky's The Society of Mind. Bicycles Locked to Poles is a rare treasury for anyone interested in bikes, poles, locks, or the forgotten artifacts of the urban landscape.

Promise Angels is dedicated to bringing you great books at great prices. Whether you read for entertainment, to learn, or for literacy - you will find what you want at!

Item Specifications...

Pages   87
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 0.5" Width: 9" Height: 8"
Weight:   0.8 lbs.
Binding  Softcover
Release Date   May 17, 2005
Publisher   McSweeney's
ISBN  1932416250  
ISBN13  9781932416251  

Availability  0 units.

More About John Glassie

Register your artisan biography and upload your photo! John Glassie, a former contributing editor to "The New York Times Magazine," has written for "The Believer," "The New Republic, The New York Times," "The Paris Review Daily," "Salon," and"Wired." He is the author of the photo book "Bicycles Locked to Poles" and lives in Brooklyn, New York."

John Glassie currently resides in the state of New York.

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.

Product Categories

1Books > Special Features > New & Used Textbooks > Humanities > Art & Music > Studio Art > Photography
2Books > Subjects > Arts & Photography > Photography > General
3Books > Subjects > Arts & Photography > Photography > Photo Essays
4Books > Subjects > Arts & Photography > Photography > Photographers, A-Z > General
5Books > Subjects > Nonfiction > Automotive > Motorcycles > General

Reviews - What do customers think about Bicycles Locked to Poles?

Excellent Coffee Table Book  Mar 4, 2006
Big fan of McSweeney's, and even bigger fan of Bikes, so when I saw an ad for this book I ordered it. I absolutely love it. The photographs are insightfull. The neighborhood and space the bikes exist in are as interesting as the bikes themselves. The legend on the inside cover is a great touch, and the Marvin Minsky quote is one I will keep for good.
a moving collection  Dec 29, 2005
Bicycles Locked to Poles is a wonderful book to give to a friend or family member. It is artistic and understated. The way in which Mr. Glassie has sequenced the photographs gives the book real heart and poignancy. Mr. Glassie's focus on the small block radius of the East Village reminds of how much transpires and how much is easily forgotten in a city like New York.
not so much  Dec 13, 2005
I was Really excited about this book- cool title, cool premise- until i got it & looked at it. the pictures are gritty, dark, and not in an artsy kind of way- and are all taken from the same height/angle. Instead of getting down & dirty & into his art, its as if the photographer didnt want to take a picture that would inconvience his walking. (i doubt new yorkers would look at you strange for squatting to take pics of a bike on the street?)
The coolest picture by far is on the cover, and its not really a wonder why they put it first. i bought it for a gift but after looking at it... maybe ill just frame the cover?
Beat-up bikes get a second life  Dec 10, 2005
New York City is a chaotic place. It's unforgiving and indifferent but alive with humanity and creative energy. The front lines of this daily struggle between the hopeful and harsh happen right here on the streets and sidewalks. Through bicycles locked to poles, Mr. Glassie captures the casualties of this struggle, showing us the relics of forgotten bikes overwhelmed by New York, yet physically bound to it. He's somehow found a tiny piece of every New Yorker's story and painted a portrait of how defeat can be a thing of beauty. And plus, lots of neat pics of banged-up bikes!
bicycles locked to poles  Sep 13, 2005
The most poignant visual social commentary about the real struggle between evolution and intelligent design. Put another way: A humorous catalogue of the wear and tear of urban life...on bikes. The photos run the gamut: gritty, sad, cute, weird, witty, bare, depressing, poetic, and charming. Take it too seriously and you'll miss the point.

Write your own review about Bicycles Locked to Poles

Ask A Question or Provide Feedback regarding Bicycles Locked to Poles

Item Feedback and Product Questions
For immediate assistance call 888.395.0572 during the hours of 10am thru 8pm EST Monday thru Friday and a customer care representative will be happy to help you!

Help us continuously improve our service by reporting your feedback or questions below:

I have a question regarding this product
The information above is incorrect or conflicting
The page has misspellings or incorrect grammar
The page did not load correctly in my browser or created an error.

Email Address:
Anti Spam Question. To combat spammers we require that you answer a simple question.
What color is the sky?
Leave This Blank :
Do Not Change This Text :

Add This Product Widget To Your Website

Looking to add this information to your own website? Then use our Product Widget to allow you to display product information in a frame that is 120 pixels wide by 240 pixels high.

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website and enjoy!

Order toll-free weekdays 10am thru 10pm EST by phone: 1-888-395-0572 (Lines are closed on holidays & weekends.)
Customer Service | My Account | Track My Orders | Return Policy | Request Free Catalog | Email Newsletter

Gift Certificates
RSS Feeds
About Us
Contact Us
Terms Of Use
Privacy Policy