Newsletter   Secure Checkout   Shopping Cart (0 Items)  
Search:    Welcome Guest! Save up to 30-40% on most items with our awesome everyday discounts!

Christmas in Plains: Memories [Paperback]

By Jimmy Carter (Author)
Our Price $ 7.00  
Retail Value $ 10.00  
You Save $ 3.00  (30%)  
Item Number 53039  
Buy New $7.00
Available on the Internet only.

Item description for Christmas in Plains: Memories by Jimmy Carter...

The former president continues his account of his early boyhood years, recalling the Christmas holidays of his youth and later years and recreating the simplicity of community and celebration with friends and family.

Publishers Description
In this acclaimed bestseller, President Carter returns to his early years in Plains, Georgia, the same locale that enchanted readers of An Hour Before Daylight, which The New Yorker called "an American classic." He remembers the Christmas days of his boyhood and later years, re-creating here the simplicity of community and celebration with family and friends.

Jimmy Carter has written another American classic in the tradition of Truman Capote's A Christmas Memory and Dylan Thomas's A Child's Christmas in Wales.

Promise Angels is dedicated to bringing you great books at great prices. Whether you read for entertainment, to learn, or for literacy - you will find what you want at!

Item Specifications...

Studio: Simon & Schuster
Pages   155
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 7.02" Width: 5.12" Height: 0.47"
Weight:   0.36 lbs.
Binding  Softcover
Release Date   Oct 1, 2004
Publisher   Simon & Schuster
ISBN  0743227158  
ISBN13  9780743227155  

Availability  1 units.
Availability accurate as of Oct 23, 2016 07:54.
Usually ships within one to two business days from La Vergne, TN.
Orders shipping to an address other than a confirmed Credit Card / Paypal Billing address may incur and additional processing delay.

More About Jimmy Carter

Jimmy Carter Jimmy Carter was the 39th President of the United States, author of numerous books, teacher at Emory University, founder of the Carter Center, and the recipient of the Nobel Peace Prize. Carter worked with Emory University to establish the Carter Center, a nongovernmental, nonprofit organization advances human rights and alleviates human suffering in seventy-five countries worldwide.

Carter is the only U.S. President to receive the Nobel Peace Prize after leaving office.

Jimmy Carter currently resides in Plains, in the state of Georgia. Jimmy Carter was born in 1924 and has an academic affiliation as follows - Miller Center of Public Affairs.

Jimmy Carter has published or released items in the following series...
  1. Library of Contemporary Thought
  2. Newmarket Words Of...(Paperback)
  3. Religions
  4. Rhetoric and Society

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.

Product Categories

1Books > Subjects > Biographies & Memoirs > General
2Books > Subjects > Biographies & Memoirs > Leaders & Notable People > Presidents & Heads of State
3Books > Subjects > Biographies & Memoirs > Memoirs
4Books > Subjects > Biographies & Memoirs > People, A-Z > ( C ) > Carter, Jimmy
5Books > Subjects > Biographies & Memoirs > Regional U.S. > South
6Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Authors, A-Z > ( C ) > Carter, Jimmy

Christian Product Categories
Books > Inspiration > Motivation > Biography & Autobiography

Similar Products

$13.99  $10.35

$13.00  $9.10

$14.00  $9.80

Reviews - What do customers think about Christmas in Plains: Memories?

The same Christmas Memories For All  Dec 17, 2004
Just sit back and enjoy. We all have these memories wether we are rich or poor, powerful or not. Just how we remember Christmas back home. Warm, endearing and easy to read, maybe somethings you know and some you did'nt. This should be a Christmas tradition.
The Human Side of America's 39th President  Jan 28, 2004
I had the privilege and honor of meeting President Carter at the University of Washington, where he signed a copy of this book for me. "Christmas in Plains" is a wonderful book that approaches autobiography in a new and interesting way: Jimmy Carter reflects on his life as a series of holiday seasons. We see the triumphs and the failures in eloquent and honest prose.

History will remember Jimmy Carter as a compassionate human being with a genuine desire to help others. This book would make the perfect holiday gift. After all, what better values truly embody the holiday spirit than compassion and love?

Christmas Joy from the Carters  Dec 23, 2003
The short, joyful book contains Jimmy Carter memories of Christmas. His earliest memories begin around 1930 (when he was 5), and involve memories of father Earl and mother Lillian, as well as black neighbors (in an era of separation, his family perhaps represented a light in the South). There are happy childhood memories of finding the Christmas tree and fireworks. Jimmy and Rosalynn always tried to get back to Plains, but there are included a few absent remembrance from Navy years, and a rather tense Christmas with the holding of the Iran hostages. The line drawings by daughter Amy add a family charm to the book. May the Carter's have many more Merry Christmases together in Plains.
Life in Plains, Acommunity in  Apr 16, 2002
This is another of Jimmy Carter's books of God and his values. Jimmy is a good man and writes something that will not electrify you. This is part of his autobiography from Plains, the village or small town in Georgia where he remembered the good things when was a boy and always returned to Plains with his family to spend time with his mother and his wife's mother for Christmas. His father passed on earlier from cancer during this period.

He graduated from Annapolis, spent a long tour in the Navy, elected for two terms as state senator and then to the Governor of Georgia, before being elected President of the USA. He married Rosalynn, a childhood sweetheart, during his time in the Navy and they had three sons. He now has six grandchildren, at the last count.

After that, Jimmy and Rosalynn returned to Georgia. After founding the Atlanta-based Carter Center he is devoting the rest of time writing and doing good for all the world's people.

It's O.K.  Jan 22, 2002
This book was not half as detailed as "An hour before daylight," which I thought was great! Daylight also has photographs, this one does not, and the artwork in this is uninspired (sorry Amy). I just didn't find enough Christmas feeling in this book to suit me. I would recommend redoing this one, enlarging it to include Rosalyn's perspective with photographs. Maybe some input from more members of the family. And I would like to see some enthusiasm, excitement and humor in Amy's art.

Write your own review about Christmas in Plains: Memories

Ask A Question or Provide Feedback regarding Christmas in Plains: Memories

Item Feedback and Product Questions
For immediate assistance call 888.395.0572 during the hours of 10am thru 8pm EST Monday thru Friday and a customer care representative will be happy to help you!

Help us continuously improve our service by reporting your feedback or questions below:

I have a question regarding this product
The information above is incorrect or conflicting
The page has misspellings or incorrect grammar
The page did not load correctly in my browser or created an error.

Email Address:
Anti Spam Question. To combat spammers we require that you answer a simple question.
What color is the sky?
Leave This Blank :
Do Not Change This Text :

Add This Product Widget To Your Website

Looking to add this information to your own website? Then use our Product Widget to allow you to display product information in a frame that is 120 pixels wide by 240 pixels high.

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website and enjoy!

Order toll-free weekdays 10am thru 10pm EST by phone: 1-888-395-0572 (Lines are closed on holidays & weekends.)
Customer Service | My Account | Track My Orders | Return Policy | Request Free Catalog | Email Newsletter

Gift Certificates
RSS Feeds
About Us
Contact Us
Terms Of Use
Privacy Policy