Newsletter   Secure Checkout   Shopping Cart (0 Items)  
Search:    Welcome Guest! Save up to 30-40% on most items with our awesome everyday discounts!

Angel: The Curse [Paperback]

By Messina & David Messina (Illustrator)
Our Price $ 13.99  
Retail Value $ 19.99  
You Save $ 6.00  (30%)  
Item Number 250053  
Buy New $13.99
Out Of Stock!
Currently Out Of Stock
Currently unavailable...

Item description for Angel: The Curse by Messina & David Messina...

Joss Whedon's classic vampire character returns to comics and IDW's got him! This book, collecting the Angel: The Curse series written by fan-favorite Angel author Jeff Mariotte, will be sure to appeal to fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Angel alike!

Promise Angels is dedicated to bringing you great books at great prices. Whether you read for entertainment, to learn, or for literacy - you will find what you want at!

Item Specifications...

Pages   114
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 0.5" Width: 6.75" Height: 10.25"
Weight:   0.75 lbs.
Binding  Softcover
Release Date   Feb 15, 2006
Publisher   IDW Publishing
ISBN  1933239794  
ISBN13  9781933239798  

Availability  0 units.

More About Messina & David Messina

Register your artisan biography and upload your photo! Jeff Mariotte is the author of more than forty-five novels, including the supernatural thrillers "Season of the Wolf", "River Runs Red", "Missing White Girl", and "Cold Black Hearts;" the thriller "The Devil's Bait", the horror epic "The Slab", the "Dark Vengeance" teen horror quartet, and others, as well as dozens of comic books, notably "Desperadoes" and "Zombie Cop". He has written books, stories, and comics set in beloved fictional universes, including those of "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" and "Angel", "CSI" and "CSI: Miami", "The Shield", "Criminal Minds", "Conan", "Superman", "Spider-Man", "Hellraiser", and many more, and is a two-time winner of the Scribe Award presented by the International Association of Media Tie-inWriters. He's a co-owner of the specialty bookstore Mysterious Galaxy in San Diego, and lives in southeastern Arizona on the Flying M Ranch. Please visit him at or

Jeff Mariotte currently resides in the state of Arizona.

Jeff Mariotte has published or released items in the following series...
  1. Star Trek: The Original

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.

Product Categories

1Books > Subjects > Comics & Graphic Novels > Comic Strips > General
2Books > Subjects > Comics & Graphic Novels > General
3Books > Subjects > Comics & Graphic Novels > Graphic Novels > General
4Books > Subjects > Comics & Graphic Novels > Graphic Novels > Graphic Novels
5Books > Subjects > Entertainment > Humor > General
6Books > Subjects > Science Fiction & Fantasy

Reviews - What do customers think about Angel: The Curse?

Mediocre Story, Horrible Glue  Aug 20, 2007
While the story in "The Curse" was good, except for the abrupt and strange resolution, it just doesn't feel like an ANGEL story. It might be because of the absence of Wesley, Cordelia, Spike, Gunn, Illyria, and any other ANGEL character beside Angel himself. The Angel we see is slightly in character, but sometimes I feel as if Jeff Mariotte is trying too hard to pull of Angel's dry wit.

There are moments in this miniseries, particularly the "flashbacks" to the show itself, where we have Angel remembering things past, and also the moral dilemma Angel finds himself in when asked to do an horrible thing. However the main arc of "The Curse" just feels like it belongs somewhere else, not in the ANGEL Universe. Another problem is that there are so many minor characters introduced that we don't have a chance to latch on to any of them emotionally and, by the time we do, the comic is over. The action lasts so long that the actual climax is abruptly ended in a short bit of exposition on the last page.

Out of all the ANGEL trade paperbacks by IDW, this is the one that I'd least recommend. Before I end, I have to mention how feeble the glue holding this book together is. As soon as I opened up "The Curse", the cover came right off. And it wasn't just my copy; I saw one in BORDERS, and the same thing happened. Very disappointing.

so, what, exactly, happened  Nov 3, 2006
As I wrote in my review of Angel: Old Friends, I'd like to know what happened in the final battle which the series ended on. I think the two part book series was OK (a little too much nose on the characters, though) but they never really explained how the main characters survived - is that too much to ask?
Not disappointing, not outstanding.  Oct 7, 2006
The art work is decent, but not great. It is a good thing they told us that it was Cordy in the poster, or I would never have known. The story didn't dawdle, but never really dragged me in. I really wasn't disappointed, I guess I was just expecting more (I had just read "Spike" which was exceptional in both art and storys). It takes place post fifth season and gives no clue as to whether anyone else survived the black thorn. Have to read elsewhere for that. It was good, and I do reccomend it. Just don't expect it to be more than it is.
Angel still rules  Jul 6, 2006
Again, it's good to see Angel back in action in original stories taking place after "Not Fade Away." Jeff Mariotte knows Angel. His writing is superb. However, the story is a bit lackluster and predictable. I could not really envision this as an Angel tv episode. David Messina is a great artist. He lays down some ink that any fanboy would appreciate. He has treated this very beautifully. The characters just look... right. If you're an Angel fan in need of a fix, buy this now. If you're looking for some more answers to what happened to everyone after "Not Fade Away," then check out "Old Friends," also by Mariotte and Messina.
Angel + Gypsies always = trouble  May 2, 2006
In this first of IDW's Angel mini-series, our favorite dark haired vampire with a soul journeys to Romania in an attempt to have the curse placed upon his head amended so he can have true happiness with Nina, the beautiful blonde werewolf from Angel's fifth season. On the way he encounters a rag tag band of Rom fighting for their very lives against a genosidal dictator, and must decide if lifting the curse is worth siring a new vampire and having that on his conscience.

I think because it's written by Jeff Mariotte, this series has the right `feel'. You can hear the character's voices in your head, and it feels like a continuation of the Angel series. Furthermore, fans that used to read Angel under the Dark Horse banner will be pleasantly surprised by this beautiful treatment. The art alone is to die for. David Messina uses heavy black lines to keep a noir mood while staying true to the character's look.

Overall, I recommend this for any Buffy or Angel fan. Long time fans will like small cameos of some old, favorite characters in Angel's memory, but any newcomer can buy this graphic without knowing anything about the character and still follow the story nicely.

This graphic is a great addition to any library.

Highly Recommended.

Write your own review about Angel: The Curse

Ask A Question or Provide Feedback regarding Angel: The Curse

Item Feedback and Product Questions
For immediate assistance call 888.395.0572 during the hours of 10am thru 8pm EST Monday thru Friday and a customer care representative will be happy to help you!

Help us continuously improve our service by reporting your feedback or questions below:

I have a question regarding this product
The information above is incorrect or conflicting
The page has misspellings or incorrect grammar
The page did not load correctly in my browser or created an error.

Email Address:
Anti Spam Question. To combat spammers we require that you answer a simple question.
What color is the sky?
Leave This Blank :
Do Not Change This Text :

Add This Product Widget To Your Website

Looking to add this information to your own website? Then use our Product Widget to allow you to display product information in a frame that is 120 pixels wide by 240 pixels high.

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website and enjoy!

Order toll-free weekdays 10am thru 10pm EST by phone: 1-888-395-0572 (Lines are closed on holidays & weekends.)
Customer Service | My Account | Track My Orders | Return Policy | Request Free Catalog | Email Newsletter

Gift Certificates
RSS Feeds
About Us
Contact Us
Terms Of Use
Privacy Policy