Newsletter   Secure Checkout   Shopping Cart (0 Items)  
Search:    Welcome Guest! Save up to 30-40% on most items with our awesome everyday discounts!

William Kentridge [Paperback]

Our Price $ 35.00  
Retail Value $ 50.00  
You Save $ 15.00  (30%)  
Item Number 199050  
Buy New $35.00
Quantity:
Out Of Stock!
Currently Out Of Stock
Currently unavailable...

Item description for William Kentridge by Carolyn Christov Bakargiev...

Overview
"William Kentridge (b. 1955, Johannesburg) has always addressed the more challenging and intimate aspects of contemporary life and of South Africa, both during Apartheid and in the post-Apartheid period. Through his short animated films, his sculptures, installations, charcoal drawings on paper - based on a technique of erasure - as well as through his activities in theater as set designer and director, Kentridge explores the nature of memory and emotions, the ambiguity and complexity of social conflictsin the age of globalization. His art suggests an original perspective which is both elegiac and dramatic, whereby perpetual change, process and transformation are balanced between ethics, responsibility and poetry." "This catalogue accompanies the exhibition organized by the Castello di Rivoli that will travel in 2004 and 2005 to the K20 K21 Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen of Dusseldorf, the Museum of Contemporary Art of Sydney, the Musee d'Art Contemporary in Montreal and the Johannesburg Art Gallery in the artist's hometown."--BOOK JACKET.

Publishers Description
This is a richly illustrated catalogue of a major traveling exhibition of acclaimed South African artist William Kentridge.
Kentridge's oeuvre revolves around how our identities are shaped through shifting ideas of history and place: it is an elegiac art that asks for the possibility of visual poetry in contemporary society - and provides a vicious satirical commentary on that society. It presents life as process rather than as fact, and constantly questions the impact of art.
This new Kentridge study includes critical and bibliographical entries; a unique anthology of critical writings on his work; extracts from a monograph on the artist and a new essay by Carolyn Christov-Bakargiev; excerpts from the artist's own writings; and a new essay by South African writer Jane Taylor.
This is a richly illustrated catalogue of a major traveling exhibition of acclaimed South African artist William Kentridge.
Kentridge's oeuvre revolves around how our identities are shaped through shifting ideas of history and place: it is an elegiac art that asks for the possibility of visual poetry in contemporary society - and provides a vicious satirical commentary on that society. It presents life as process rather than as fact, and constantly questions the impact of art.
This new Kentridge study includes critical and bibliographical entries; a unique anthology of critical writings on his work; extracts from a monograph on the artist and a new essay by Carolyn Christov-Bakargiev; excerpts from the artist's own writings; and a new essay by South African writer Jane Taylor.

Promise Angels is dedicated to bringing you great books at great prices. Whether you read for entertainment, to learn, or for literacy - you will find what you want at promiseangels.com!

Item Specifications...


Studio: Skira
Pages   248
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 0.75" Width: 9.25" Height: 11.25"
Weight:   2.98 lbs.
Binding  Softcover
Release Date   Apr 17, 2004
Publisher   Skira
ISBN  8884917220  
ISBN13  9788884917225  


Availability  0 units.


More About Carolyn Christov Bakargiev


Register your artisan biography and upload your photo! Taylor is a distinguished horticultural writer. She also contributes regularly to gardening magazines and television programmes. She was Deputy General Secretary of the National Council for the Conservation of Plants and Gardens and her wide practical experience includes the restoration of an 18-acre garden, Coleton Fishacre, for the National Trust.

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.



Product Categories

1Books > Special Features > New & Used Textbooks
2Books > Subjects > Arts & Photography > Artists, A-Z > General



Reviews - What do customers think about William Kentridge?

Catalog of an Incredible Exhibition  Oct 13, 2002
William Kentridge is a white South African born in 1955. He is best known for animations, based on large charcoal paintings, which have as their subject the complexity of living a meaningful life in the warped society of South Africa.

Kentridge makes the films by working on the charcoal paintings, then clicking the film camera one frame at a time. He then walks back to the painting and works on it, before exposing another twenty-fifth of a second.

Kentridge is articulate and interesting and has established himself as a great artist in the tradition of Hogarth, Daumier and the German expressionists. His exhibition, which closed here in Los Angeles last week, was breathtaking. This book is the catalog of that exhibition.

 
a very interesting artist  Sep 18, 2002
I leave off a "star" only because viewing Kentridge's drawings can not substitute the experience of viewing his films. Indeed, looking the charcoal drawings I wonder at what stage of the sequence it is in. Is this the last step in the drawing? Looking at a drawing outside of its time base can also be a positive. I love searching the surface for smudge marks and erased hands and arms. His drawings end up being a record of movement (something that most single drawings fail to capture). For anyone who doesn't know, by the way, Kentridge animates his charcoal drawings using filmic stop motion techniques. The results are amazing. Anyone interested in drawing and painting, the birth of early film, and South African Politics: here is your artist.
 

Write your own review about William Kentridge



Ask A Question or Provide Feedback regarding William Kentridge


Item Feedback and Product Questions
For immediate assistance call 888.395.0572 during the hours of 10am thru 8pm EST Monday thru Friday and a customer care representative will be happy to help you!

Help us continuously improve our service by reporting your feedback or questions below:

I have a question regarding this product
The information above is incorrect or conflicting
The page has misspellings or incorrect grammar
The page did not load correctly in my browser or created an error.

Email Address:
Anti Spam Question. To combat spammers we require that you answer a simple question.
What color is the sky?
Leave This Blank :
Do Not Change This Text :



Add This Product Widget To Your Website

Looking to add this information to your own website? Then use our Product Widget to allow you to display product information in a frame that is 120 pixels wide by 240 pixels high.

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website and enjoy!



Order toll-free weekdays 10am thru 10pm EST by phone: 1-888-395-0572 (Lines are closed on holidays & weekends.)
Customer Service | My Account | Track My Orders | Return Policy | Request Free Catalog | Email Newsletter


Resources
Gift Certificates
RSS Feeds
Corporate
About Us
Contact Us
Policies
Terms Of Use
Privacy Policy