Newsletter   Secure Checkout   Shopping Cart (0 Items)  
Search:    Welcome Guest! Save up to 30-40% on most items with our awesome everyday discounts!

A Wolf Story: A Novel of Savage Conflict and Desperate Faith [Paperback]

By James Huggins (Author)
Our Price $ 8.39  
Retail Value $ 11.99  
You Save $ 3.60  (30%)  
Item Number 80187  
Buy New $8.39
Out Of Stock!
Discontinued - Out Of Print
The manufacturer has discontinued this product and no longer offers it for sale. We are unable to obtain more stock.
Currently unavailable...

Item description for A Wolf Story: A Novel of Savage Conflict and Desperate Faith by James Huggins...

In the tradition of C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkein, bestselling author James Byron Huggins pens a fascinating novel portraying the conflict between good and evil in a great gray wolf's battle to save his world from the forces of darkness. It is an intense, timeless tale of enduring faith.
Long ago, the inhabitants of the deep woods were given a choice.

The choice was difficult. They could follow the Silver Wolf and his lord, the Lightmaker, or join the secretive forces of the Dark Council.

After a desperate series of battles that rage across a harsh, frozen wilderness, the Dark Council is on the threshold of eternal victory...and the servants of the Lightmaker are devastatingly reduced to their last flicker of hope.

In the final encounter, the struggle between good and evil is more than strength against strength. More than wit against wit. It is a path of endurance won through suffering...of peace won through pain.

Promise Angels is dedicated to bringing you great books at great prices. Whether you read for entertainment, to learn, or for literacy - you will find what you want at!

Item Specifications...

Studio: Harvest House Publishers
Pages   256
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 8.3" Width: 5.4" Height: 1.1"
Weight:   0.45 lbs.
Binding  Softcover
Release Date   Mar 31, 2008
Publisher   Harvest House Publishers
ISBN  0736922091  
ISBN13  9780736922098  

Availability  0 units.

More About James Huggins

Register your artisan biography and upload your photo! James Byron Huggins is the author of "Cain, Leviathan, The Reckoning, " and "A Wolf Story." A former soldier, cop, and award-winning journalist, he lives in Decatur, Alabama.

James Byron Huggins currently resides in Decatur, in the state of Alabama.

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.

Product Categories

1Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > General > Contemporary
2Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > World Literature > United States > United States > General
3Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Christianity > Fiction & Poetry > Fiction
4Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Fiction > General
6Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > Genre Fiction > Christian Allegory

Christian Product Categories
Books > Fiction > General Christian > Classic & Allegory

Similar Products

$27.95  $19.56

$19.99  $13.99

$14.99  $10.49

Reviews - What do customers think about A Wolf Story: A Novel of Savage Conflict and Desperate Faith?

Great Story  May 28, 2006
Huggins is one of those authors I discovered by chance a few years ago. I have read most of the books he has written, my favorites are Reckoning and A Wolf Story. Both are worth your time and effort.

A Wolf Story is an allegory in the style of Narnia or Lord of the Rings. In part it is a coming of age story, and part the story of good vs. evil. Long long ago, the inhabitants of the deep deep woods were given a choice. A choice that each of them in turn must make for themselves. Those who were about to make the choice would always face trials, temptations and fears. This difficult choice was either to follow the Silver Wolf and his lord, the Lightmaker or else they would join the dark Council and become part of the forces for evil.

The choice has become all the more difficult for the forces of light have been decimated, and the Dark Council is at he door of eternal victory. It is the story of a young wolf, who must choose and has been left alone to make that choice.

In this epic final battle between good and evil, the questions becomes is it really a battle of strength vs. strength, wits against wits, wills against wills. It is a path to the future but will that be a future in darkness and oppression or a path to peace, a peace won through sacrifice and pain. A peace hard won. Tis story is an allegory of the Christian life, told in a way that will captivate readers both young and old.

James Byron Huggins was born in 1959. He is a novelist, journalist, religious activist, and police officer; all these titles appear on his resume. A graduate of Morgan County High School, and Troy State University, Huggins began his career as a journalist with the Hartselle Enquirer. In the late 80's he smuggled Christian materials into Romania. He was a beat cop for 5 years before returning to writing fulltime. His first three novels Reckoning, A Wolf Story, Leviathan were Christian best sellers. Then he broke into the main stream science fiction with such books as Cain, Hunter, Rora, Nightbringer, The Scam, Sorcerer. Both Cain and Hunter have been optioned to be movies and are suppose to star Stallone and Willis respectively.
An instant classic...  Jul 25, 2005
I read this when it first came out and it has continued to be one of my favorite books. I see it as an allegory, beautifully depicting the spiritual struggle between God & Satan in the form of the animal world.

Unforgettable characters make this book easy to read and keep you on the edge of your seat. They include the wise old hare king Saul and his colony; the brave Windgate, Saul's good friend who becomes king after Saul; young Aramus, the silver wolf still learning to live his faith who meets Saul under terrible circumstances yet that meeting changes him forever; the king of the gray wolves, Giavanel, Aramus's father, strong & wise; other brave creatures who all serve the Lightmaker and because of their faith are under constant attack from the evil Dark Council, servants of the Dark Lord.

This story captures you from the beginning and has you feeling & fighting with its characters along the way. Yet it is also laced with wisdom that can be applied to our own lives. We need more books like this. Harry Potter can't touch the life and death, good and evil struggles that Mr. Huggins has portrayed in "A Wolf Story".

Every family needs to read this book to their children!
Wonderful youth reader  May 4, 2004
Reminds me (in a good way) of a great many favorites: White Fang, Watership Down, Call it Courage, The Chronicles of Narnia, etc. Great characters that are well-drawn. Interesting dynamics between the different types of animals. Great spiritual element that doesn't overwhelm a fun adventure story. Wonderful themes that you want to share with your children - honor, courage, faith. Put down Harry Potter and read this to your kids tonight! You'll enjoy it as much as they do.
In Retrospect  Dec 26, 2003
I read this to my 4 sons about 12 years ago. It was a small part of their development into the men they have become. This book inspires and enlightens, defining character for young and old minds alike.
Style of a Classic  Jan 16, 2002
I would say this story is almost poetic in its writing and metaphorical imagery. It seems like a return to the style of some of the classics, but with action sequences that put to shame even modern action. And as all books should have an immense depth of character.

Write your own review about A Wolf Story: A Novel of Savage Conflict and Desperate Faith

Ask A Question or Provide Feedback regarding A Wolf Story: A Novel of Savage Conflict and Desperate Faith

Item Feedback and Product Questions
For immediate assistance call 888.395.0572 during the hours of 10am thru 8pm EST Monday thru Friday and a customer care representative will be happy to help you!

Help us continuously improve our service by reporting your feedback or questions below:

I have a question regarding this product
The information above is incorrect or conflicting
The page has misspellings or incorrect grammar
The page did not load correctly in my browser or created an error.

Email Address:
Anti Spam Question. To combat spammers we require that you answer a simple question.
What color is the sky?
Leave This Blank :
Do Not Change This Text :

Add This Product Widget To Your Website

Looking to add this information to your own website? Then use our Product Widget to allow you to display product information in a frame that is 120 pixels wide by 240 pixels high.

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website and enjoy!

Order toll-free weekdays 10am thru 10pm EST by phone: 1-888-395-0572 (Lines are closed on holidays & weekends.)
Customer Service | My Account | Track My Orders | Return Policy | Request Free Catalog | Email Newsletter

Gift Certificates
RSS Feeds
About Us
Contact Us
Terms Of Use
Privacy Policy