Newsletter   Secure Checkout   Shopping Cart (0 Items)  
Search:    Welcome Guest! Save up to 30-40% on most items with our awesome everyday discounts!

Hideaway (Hideaway, Book 1) [Paperback]

By Hannah Alexander (Author)
Find more in Hideaway Series
Our Price $ 9.07  
Retail Value $ 12.95  
You Save $ 3.89  (30%)  
Item Number 7729  
Buy New $9.07
Quantity:
Out Of Stock!
Discontinued - Out Of Print
The manufacturer has discontinued this product and no longer offers it for sale. We are unable to obtain more stock.
Currently unavailable...

Item description for Hideaway (Hideaway, Book 1) by Hannah Alexander...

Overview
As an E.R. doctor, Cheyenne Allison is used to handling emergencies on a daily basis - until her own sister codes on the trauma bed. Devastated, Cheyenne retreats to an isolated farm in Hideaway, Missouri. But peace and solitude are in short supply in this picturesque Ozarks town. A dangerous vandal has the community terrorized, and Cheyenne finds an unexpected demand for her medical skills. Mayor Austin Barlow is convinced the culprit resides with Cheyenne's charismatic neighbor across the lake, Dane Gideon, whose ranch for foster boys has given rise to previous violence. Cheyenne distrusts Austin, while Dane inspires her respect, and perhaps something more - although she can't share the faith that sustains him as the violence turns deadly. Then Cheyenne, already pursued by a past nemesis, becomes the vandal's target, and she can only hope that Hideaway will prove her sanctuary. . .and perhaps a place to call home.

Promise Angels is dedicated to bringing you great books at great prices. Whether you read for entertainment, to learn, or for literacy - you will find what you want at promiseangels.com!

Item Specifications...


Studio: Steeple Hill
Pages   352
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 8.18" Width: 5.04" Height: 0.93"
Weight:   0.64 lbs.
Binding  Softcover
Release Date   Oct 31, 2003
Publisher   STEEPLE HILL #375
ISBN  0373785070  
ISBN13  9780373785070  
UPC  065373012951  


Availability  0 units.


More About Hannah Alexander


Register your artisan biography and upload your photo! Hannah Alexander is the author of over 30 traditionally published titles of Christian romance and medical drama set in small towns in the Missouri Ozarks. She has won multiple awards for her writing, which include the Christy, three Gold Medallions, Library Journal's top five Christian novels of the year, the Reader's Choice award, and she has been nominated by Romantic Times for the Lifetime Achievement award. For more complete information about this author you will find her at www.HannahAlexander.com

Hannah Alexander has published or released items in the following series...
  1. Jerry B. Jenkins Select Books


Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.



Product Categories

1Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > General > Contemporary
2Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > Women > Single Women
3Books > Subjects > Mystery & Thrillers > Thrillers > Suspense
4Books > Subjects > Romance > Contemporary > General
5Books > Subjects > Romance > General
6Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Christianity > Fiction & Poetry > Fiction > Suspense


Christian Product Categories
Books > Fiction > General Christian > Romance



Reviews - What do customers think about Hideaway (Hideaway, Book 1)?

Darn vandals!  Mar 24, 2006
Author: Hannah Alexander (pseudonym)
Genre: Christian/Inspirational (Romantic Suspense)

Plot Summary:
Dr. Cheyenne Allison's world is turned upside-down when her beloved little sister is wheeled into the ER, near death from injuries sustained in a car accident. Despite her best efforts, Cheyenne cannot save her sister and begins to suffer from the guilt. To make matters worse, her widowed brother-in-law, a person of dubious moral character, files a suit against her for malpractice. Cheyenne's grief begins to effect her job performance and she is forced to take a leave of absence. She decides to take a friend up on an offer to recuperate at a vacant summer home in the rural (fictional) town of Hideaway. Once there, Cheyenne quickly realizes that her stay will not be one of quiet solitude. The people of Hideaway immediately draw Cheyenne (a non-Christian) into the fabric of the community. She meets Dane Gideon, a handsome Christian man who helps troubled teenage boys by housing them at his ranch and giving them guidance. One of his new boys, a sweet and misunderstood African American kid named Blaze, is suspected by the mayor of committing various acts of vandalism.

Geographical Setting: Columbia and Hideaway, Missouri
Time Period: Modern Day (2003)
Series: Hideaway (This is the first of three)

Appeal Characteristics: "Hideaway" (the 2004 Christy Award winner for Christian Romance) is a character-driven story with elements of suspense. The pacing is slow. There is not a heavy plot, but the reader will remain interested in how the characters will overcome their problems. Readers who enjoy a rural setting and a tight-knit community atmosphere will like the town of Hideaway. The authors make heavy use of medical jargon, which might appeal to fans of medical thrillers. Also, readers who are interested in stories of people dealing with, and overcoming racial discrimination might enjoy Blaze's character.

Read-alikes: Fans of the setting of Hideaway should enjoy the rest of the series: "Safe Haven" (2004), "Last Resort" (2005), "Note of Peril" (2005) and "Fair Warning" (2006). These books continue with medical themes, though they do not feature the same cast of characters. The three books of the Rock Harbor Series: "Without a Trace" (2003), "Beyond a Doubt" (2004), and "Into the Deep" (2004), by Colleen Coble will also be of interest. These books are romantic suspense stories taking place in the rural upper peninsula of Michigan. Bree Nicholls, a search and rescue worker, deals with the loss of her husband and the guilt of not being able to save his life. Still Waters by Shirlee McCoy is also a Christian romantic suspense story that takes place in a small tight-knit community. The plot involves a group of teenage vandals that disrupt the peaceful hamlet of Lakeview, Virginia.

Red Flags: Arson; Blood in the Emergency Room; A murdered cat (off stage)
 
I want to visit Hideaway!  Feb 24, 2006
I just found a new author, or should I say authors--since Dr Mel & Cheryl Hodde write together as Hannah Alexander--to add to my favorite's list. Hideaway is the first book of theirs that I have read and it will certainly not be the last.

Hideaway is a small town in the Missouri Ozarks where Dr. Cheyenne Allison retreats after Susan, her sister, dies on the trauma table in the ER where Cheyenne works. She is hoping Hideaway will be a place of peace and quiet where she can literally "hide away", but that idea is quickly dispelled as she meets the many unique & caring people who populate this picturesque lakeside town. One of those people is Dane Gideon who runs a ranch for foster boys directly across the lake from Cheyenne's farm. The mayor of Hideaway, Austin Barlow, is convinced that one of Dane's boys is the vandal who continues to destroy property and cause concern among the residents of the town. But while Cheyenne's first meeting with one of Dane's boys, Blaze, doesn't start out on the best footing, she soon comes to care for and respect Dane and his boys.

While her sister Susan had become a Christian during college, Cheyenne has never seen much need for God in her life. Kirk, Susan's husband, only reinforces her negative view of most Christians as Cheyenne sees him continually treat her sister with contempt. When Kirk sues Cheyenne for malpractice in her sister's death, the pain she already feels becomes almost more than she can bear. It is through the special people that befriend her in Hideaway--Dane, Blaze, her elderly neighbors Bertie & Red--that she comes to see that God might just be able to use the pain in her life to bring about healing, just as she has to do at times with her own patients.

Hideaway is a place I would love to visit and the characters were so vibrant and real that I finished the story feeling like I had made some new friends. I am glad that Hideaway is the first book in a series because I look forward to visiting there again very soon.
 
Wonderful, Didn't Want It To End  Jan 21, 2006
The characters got into my soul. They became real to me. The heartbreak of the main character, ER doctor Cheyene Allison at the death of her sister was tangible, as well as her torment that she might be responsible. So, she runs to the little lakeside town of Hideaway, where Dane Gideon, who runs a home for boys and Mayor Austin Barlow vie for her affections. Cheyene finds comfort in Dane's presence and though she doesn't share his faith, often wishes she could. The peace of Hideaway is shattered by a vandal, an arsonist who turns to murder, and he decides to target Cheyene. A must read. Great
 
It's a Keeper  Jul 18, 2004
FANTASTIC....couldn't put it down...didn't want it to end.
The writing is supherb with believable characters and situations...I love how the two were entroduced to each other....I found myself chuckling... I keep all of Hannah Alexander books for my personal library and for friends to read...these books do NOT go into the 2nd hand book store bin.
Please, Hannah Alexander, never ever quit producing!
 
A Well Paced, Suspenseful Read  Jan 24, 2004
True confession: this is the first Christian suspense novel I've read, and I wasn't expecting much. Given the secular suspense novels all over bookstores chockfull of gore, sex and expletives, I couldn't imagine how Hannah Alexander would put together a story without them. What would the main conflict be --- that the church coffee hour ran out of sugar?

Like all sinners who confess, I must now admit my wrongdoing: HIDEAWAY, while gentle, is a well paced, suspenseful read. That bag of missing sugar hasn't been poured into Alexander's prose, either; the novel isn't treacly. Even the requisite adorable elderly country couple, Bertie and Red, are rendered clearly. Bertie, given to concoctions of roots and herbs, isn't made to seem like a fount of wisdom or like a Wiccan-on-the-edge; instead, her homemade remedies are place in counterpoint to Cheyenne Allison's medical training.

Cheyenne Allison, a thirtysomething ER doctor, has retreated to colleague Ardis Dunaway's home in the Ozark town of Hideaway, Missouri, after her sister is in a car accident and dies on her watch. Without giving away too much of the plot, it's important to know that Allison has inner demons pursuing her, and outer ones too, in the form of a lawsuit. She thinks the quiet of country life and the challenge of helping to spruce up her friend's ramshackle house will be all that she needs to fill up her life while she recovers.

But soon she is meeting the neighbors: Dane Gideon, who runs a ranch for troubled teen boys, his ward Gavin, or "Blaze," the aforementioned Bertie and Red, Mayor Austin Barlow and his son Ramsay, and other people curious about the lone woman from the big city of Columbia. Before she can say "How quaint!" Allison finds herself aiding Gideon, tutoring Blaze, treating Red, and fending off Barlow. Her quiet period of recovery soon turns into an eventful sabbatical that leaves her wondering if she really wants to go back to what she once had.

Some of the events seem flat. For example, as the book gains speed, accidents and incidents tumble so quickly over each other that when Blaze is badly electrocuted by a ground wire, the injury almost fails to register. This may be a weakness of the collaboration; "Hannah Alexander" is the pen name for Dr. Mel and Cheryl Hodde (Hod-dee), who have written several books together and plan more novels in this "Hideaway" series.

However, weaknesses are more than offset by the strengths in this book. Some of the events are tragic, including those affecting Allison, as her brother-in-law's suit against her turns ugly and Red's deep-vein thrombosis even uglier. And as things turn ugly in town, too, with repeated acts of vandalism being blamed on Blaze, the doctor slowly, slowly, slowly begins to wonder if there might be more to the quiet, strong Christian faith of her new friends than she could have ever imagined.

Allison's road to spiritual recovery is rendered without dramatics, as befits her training and beliefs. Other characters are also attractive --- Dane Gideon, quirks and flaws included, is a fitting foil for the doctor, a female protagonist who does not conform to any particular doctrine's idea of womanhood but is nevertheless deeply attractive. However, when I finished, the character of Blaze was the one who stayed with me. An author (or authors!) who can create an African-American boy with emotional issues, whose skill with animals can bring tears to the eye, is (are) talented indeed. And so my confession ends with a penance and redemption that are one and the same: I look forward to the next Hannah Alexander suspense title!

--- Reviewed by Bethanne Kelly Patrick

 

Write your own review about Hideaway (Hideaway, Book 1)



Ask A Question or Provide Feedback regarding Hideaway (Hideaway, Book 1)


Item Feedback and Product Questions
For immediate assistance call 888.395.0572 during the hours of 10am thru 8pm EST Monday thru Friday and a customer care representative will be happy to help you!

Help us continuously improve our service by reporting your feedback or questions below:

I have a question regarding this product
The information above is incorrect or conflicting
The page has misspellings or incorrect grammar
The page did not load correctly in my browser or created an error.

Email Address:
Anti Spam Question. To combat spammers we require that you answer a simple question.
What color is the sky?
Leave This Blank :
Do Not Change This Text :



Add This Product Widget To Your Website

Looking to add this information to your own website? Then use our Product Widget to allow you to display product information in a frame that is 120 pixels wide by 240 pixels high.

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website and enjoy!



Order toll-free weekdays 10am thru 10pm EST by phone: 1-888-395-0572 (Lines are closed on holidays & weekends.)
Customer Service | My Account | Track My Orders | Return Policy | Request Free Catalog | Email Newsletter


Resources
Gift Certificates
RSS Feeds
Corporate
About Us
Contact Us
Policies
Terms Of Use
Privacy Policy