Newsletter   Secure Checkout   Shopping Cart (0 Items)  
Search:    Welcome Guest! Save up to 30-40% on most items with our awesome everyday discounts!

Directionally Challenged: How to Find and Follow God's Course for Your Life (Impact) [Paperback]

By Travis Collins (Author)
Find more in Impact Series
Our Price $ 9.09  
Retail Value $ 12.99  
You Save $ 3.90  (30%)  
Item Number 36417  
Buy New $9.09
Out Of Stock!
Currently Out Of Stock
Currently unavailable...

Impact - Full Series Preview
Image Title Price Stock Qty Add To Cart
  Hearts Cry (Revised)   $ 8.83   In Stock  

Item description for Directionally Challenged: How to Find and Follow God's Course for Your Life (Impact) by Travis Collins...

In Directionally Challenged, trusted pastor Travis Collins helps readers discern God?s direction for their lives. Collins offers help to Christians who have gotten sidetracked and encouragement for those whose priorities have been overturned and life?s callings set aside. In his warm and engaging way, Collins provides sound, biblical teaching on finding the courage, conviction, and character needed to discern and live God?s call.

Publishers Description
Does trying to follow God?'s call in your life leave you feeling directionally challenged? God rarely tells us where He?'s taking us or exactly how to get there. Instead, like a compass, He points us in the general direction we are to go. In Directionally Challenged, trusted pastor Travis Collins helps Christians discern God?'s compass for their lives. Collins offers help to Christians who have gotten sidetracked and encouragement for those whose priorities have been overturned and life?'s callings set aside. In his warm and engaging way, Collins provides sound, biblical teaching on finding the courage, conviction, and character needed to discern and live God?'s call.

Promise Angels is dedicated to bringing you great books at great prices. Whether you read for entertainment, to learn, or for literacy - you will find what you want at!

Item Specifications...

Studio: New Hope Publishers - Impact
Pages   224
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 8.52" Width: 6.88" Height: 0.6"
Weight:   0.6 lbs.
Binding  Softcover
Release Date   May 1, 2007
Publisher   NEW HOPE PUBLISHING #351
Series  Impact  
ISBN  1596690755  
ISBN13  9781596690752  

Availability  0 units.

More About Travis Collins

Register your artisan biography and upload your photo! Travis Collins serves multiple congregations in two primary roles. As the Director of Mission Advancement and Virginia Regional Coordinator for Fresh Expressions US, he encourages and equips congregations to begin new forms of church primarily for those who are not yet members of any church. As a consultant with the The Center for Healthy Churches, he helps congregations and ministers in key moments such as visioning, conflict and transition. His church consultant role also includes membership in The Columbia Partnership Network, and one of his major passions is helping vocational ministers deal in a healthy way with the challenges inherent in their calling.

Travis Collins has published or released items in the following series...
  1. TCP the Columbia Partnership Leadership

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.

Product Categories

1Books > Subjects > Health, Mind & Body > Self-Help > Personal Transformation
2Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Christianity > Christian Living > Discipleship
3Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Christianity > Christian Living > General

Christian Product Categories
Books > Christian Living > Spiritual Growth > General
Books > Christian Living > Practical Life > General

Similar Products

$16.95  $11.86

$17.99  $12.23

Reviews - What do customers think about Directionally Challenged?

Directionally Challenged by Travis Collins  Oct 28, 2009
I picked up this book because this is exactly how I feel...Directionally Challenged. We all feel this way at one time or another and Collins does an excellent job of laying a good foundation on expressing these feelings of "lostness" into words. And yet, lays out a map to finding your way again.

Through stories and anecdotes, the author keeps your interest while driving the point home "you may FEEL lost, but there IS a way to the other side." Chapter 3 titled "The COMPASS" alone is worth the price of the book. In it, Collins outlines a guide to find your way in troubled times. Like a real compass, this spiritual map is practical and handy, but does not show you every step of the way.

Although the book could have been 100 pages shorter, it is a helpful guide through the muck of mediocrity. Directionally Challenged provides real world examples of those that seemed to wonder aimlessly only to find their place in this world. Not only does Collins' work assist those looking for direction, the book also challenges your direction. We must always remember that our path is one of what Collins labels "follower-ship" in which we are only told to follow Jesus. In this path we are lead to life of courage and mystery.

Become a New Hope Book Review Blogger. Visit [...] for more information.
A great book on a tough topic  Aug 21, 2009
There is often a question that lingers in the minds of many Christians: How can I know God's will for my life? Many Christians desire to be obedient to the will of God in their lives, but often times struggle with how to determine what his will is. In this book, Travis Collins takes up the task of helping Christians discern the will of God in their lives.

Overall, I think Travis does an excellent job helping people to understand how to find the will of God in their lives. He explains this in terms of a "call." In other words, finding the will of God for your life is almost synonymous with answering the unique call God has placed upon your life. To help locate both of these, Travis proposes a "COMPASS" to help navigate. This serves as the illustration to help readers understand the many aspects of finding and staying in the will of God, which he discusses in this book.

There are really only two critiques I could offer. A few times The Message is quoted in the book as though it is Scripture. I would have preferred this translation not have been used as a Scriptural source because it is a paraphrase translation. Aside from that, the only other thing is that I felt like there was no cohesiveness among chapters four and following. The first three chapters flowed beautifully together. Each successive chapter covers an important aspect of the journey to finding and following God's course for our lives, but doesn't flow as well as the first three chapters.

Become a New Hope Book Review Blogger. Visit [...] for more information.
DIRECTIONALLY CHALLENGED, by Travis Collins  Jun 30, 2007
DIRECTIONALLY CHALLENGED, by Travis Collins, is exceptionally well-written and thought-provoking. Written by a highly talented minister, to Christians, on how to find and follow God's will for our lives, it is one of the rare Christian books that transcends its purpose and targeted readership; the deep insights in it are valuable for all people, in all walks of life, regardless of religious convictions or lack thereof. The insights are presented in fascinating ways: sometimes funny, sometimes sad, always succinct, and unfailingly in a manner that reaches the reader. In reading this book, one feels that he/she is carrying on a mental conversation with its author: a witty, give-and-take, refreshingly honest conversation. DIRECTIONALLY CHALLENGED exhibits an unusual undersanding of the human mind and human condition, and is also fun to read--there's the mental conversation aspect, and also a deftness, a word-play, a lightness, and a joy that makes one finish reading it with a sense of "Hey, is this all?" On page 38 the author says, "Hearing and confirming the voice of God is not without its mystery." To read this book is to explore that mystery and the mystery of human life with a warm, generous, Christ-oriented, open-minded friend walking beside one.
A Useful Resource  Jun 26, 2007
Travis Collins has written a practical guide to determining God's purpose for one's life. This book follows in the tradition of Blackaby and King (Experiencing God). The application goes beyond the individual level inplied by the subtitle, to the corporate level for the family, as well as the church community. Collins has well supported his thesis both scripturally and from practical experience. I particularly like the rich metaphors he provides throughout the book ("These will preach"). I also appreciate that Collins does not gloss over the difficulties/challenges that are inevitable in such a search, but rather presents a balance between realism and encouragement. Of particular interest was the acknowledgment of the need for the community in the discernment process ("Observation by others"). This is much needed and most helpful in our individualistic society.

Write your own review about Directionally Challenged

Ask A Question or Provide Feedback regarding Directionally Challenged

Item Feedback and Product Questions
For immediate assistance call 888.395.0572 during the hours of 10am thru 8pm EST Monday thru Friday and a customer care representative will be happy to help you!

Help us continuously improve our service by reporting your feedback or questions below:

I have a question regarding this product
The information above is incorrect or conflicting
The page has misspellings or incorrect grammar
The page did not load correctly in my browser or created an error.

Email Address:
Anti Spam Question. To combat spammers we require that you answer a simple question.
What color is the sky?
Leave This Blank :
Do Not Change This Text :

Add This Product Widget To Your Website

Looking to add this information to your own website? Then use our Product Widget to allow you to display product information in a frame that is 120 pixels wide by 240 pixels high.

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website and enjoy!

Order toll-free weekdays 10am thru 10pm EST by phone: 1-888-395-0572 (Lines are closed on holidays & weekends.)
Customer Service | My Account | Track My Orders | Return Policy | Request Free Catalog | Email Newsletter

Gift Certificates
RSS Feeds
About Us
Contact Us
Terms Of Use
Privacy Policy