Newsletter   Secure Checkout   Shopping Cart (0 Items)  
Search:    Welcome Guest! Save up to 30-40% on most items with our awesome everyday discounts!

Now I Can Die in Peace: How ESPN's Sports Guy Found Salvation, with a Little Help From Nomar, Pedro, Shawshank, and the 2004 Red Sox [Hardcover]

Our Price $ 17.47  
Retail Value $ 24.95  
You Save $ 7.49  (30%)  
Item Number 251010  
Buy New $17.47
Out Of Stock!
Currently Out Of Stock
Currently unavailable...

Item description for Now I Can Die in Peace: How ESPN's Sports Guy Found Salvation, with a Little Help From Nomar, Pedro, Shawshank, and the 2004 Red Sox by Bill Simmons...

ESPNs beloved Sports Guy replays the years leading up to the Boston Red Sox historic championship season and says goodbye to a lifetime of suffering. At least for now. The Red Sox won the World Series. To Citizen No. 1 of Red Sox Nation, those seven words meant No more 1918 chants. No more smug glances from Yankee fans. No more worrying about living an entire lifethats 80 years, followed by death without seeing the Red Sox win a Series. But once he was able to type those life-changing words, Bill Simmons decided to look back at his Sports Guy columns for the last five years to find out how the miracle came to pass. And thats where the trouble began. Why didnt he see it coming? Why didnt it happen sooner? What was the key deal, the lucky move, the funny bounce, the sign from above that he failed to spot? Pretty soon, The Sports Guy was second-guessing himself, rewriting history, sniping at his own past predictions, pounding the tablethats what sports guys do, right? And doing so, he let himself get sidetracked by the suffering of the Boston Bruins, frustrated by the false promise of the Celticsand driven into a state of ecstasy by the dynastic New England Patriots. The result is Now I Can Die in Peace, a hilarious and fresh new look at some of the best sportswriting in America, with sharp critical commentary (and fresh insights) from the guy who wrote it in the first place.

Promise Angels is dedicated to bringing you great books at great prices. Whether you read for entertainment, to learn, or for literacy - you will find what you want at!

Item Specifications...

Pages   368
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 9.1" Width: 6.3" Height: 1.3"
Weight:   1.4 lbs.
Binding  Hardcover
Release Date   Oct 1, 2005
Publisher   ESPN
ISBN  1933060050  
ISBN13  9781933060057  

Availability  0 units.

More About Bill Simmons

Register your artisan biography and upload your photo! Bill Simmons writes The Sports Guy column for s "Page 2" and "ESPN: The Magazine." He is the author of Now I Can Die In Peace, founded the award-winning website, and was a writer for "Jimmy Kimmel Live." He commutes between his home in Los Angeles and Fenway Park.

"From the Hardcover edition.""

Bill Simmons was born in 1969.

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.

Product Categories

1Books > Subjects > Sports > Baseball > General
2Books > Subjects > Sports > Baseball > History
3Books > Subjects > Sports > General

Reviews - What do customers think about Now I Can Die in Peace: How ESPN's Sports Guy Found Salvation, with a Little Help From Nomar, Pedro, Shawshank, and the 2004 Red Sox?

Decent Book for fans of Sports and Pop Culture  Jul 8, 2008
Disclaimer: I am a religous reader of Simmons on ESPN page 2 and absolutely LOVE his work.

However, I found this book only moderately entertaining as it is a collection of his old works leading up to 2004. The book I bought had added commentary, but I found some of the references to be dated (of course) and less entertaining than his current work.

I recommend this book for anyone who is a Red Sox fan or a fan of Simmons writing from ESPN Page 2.
If you have ever read Bill Simmons, it's a must read!  Jun 9, 2008
I have read some of the articles before but not many of them. But I have followed him on ESPN and he is one of the most entertaining sportswriters that I know. I don't even like the Red Sox because I'm an Oakland fan, but he does make it very enjoyable. Definitely a must read if you like the Red Sox but a highly recommended one just based on his writing style!
Great Book  May 15, 2008
Fun and entertaining read for those that like their sports with a little something extra. Funny, insightful, and best of all the type of book a normal fan would write if given the chance.
A Must Read for Red Sox Fans  May 9, 2008
Those familiar will Bill Simmons' column on ESPN know that his writing style is highly entertaining and unique. Not a traditional sportswriter Bill writes from the viewpoint of the fan, putting in writing what everyone else is thinking. The book compiles all his Red Sox related columns over a 5 year period, leading up to their first World Series Championship in 86 years. Its fun to relive the emotions of being a fan in those years, and the steps the team made to get to the pinnacle of the sport. While the columns aren't anything new, the footnotes that are added offer a unique perspective into what Simmons was thinking or explanations for jokes he refers to in previous columns. The footnotes really bring his columns to another level. The book is a very easy and entertaining read. Personally its my old standby for long flights, because it never fails to make me laugh out loud.
A Trip Down Memory Lane  Apr 5, 2008
If you're looking at this, you probably know who Bill Simmons is and what his writing style is like. He set a trend in sports writing, integrating pop culture and sports and introducing his readers to his circle of friends.
To witness all this, you can read any of his weekly columns on Or, you most certainly can read this book which replays the events leading up to and including the 2004 World Series.
But as our memories tend to become rosier with time, it seems now, in hindsight, that the Red Sox were destined to win in our lifetime, and further, be a dominating force in baseball for years to come. This book actually transports you back to that emotional place you were in, when the Red Sox continued to fall prey to the likes of Lucy van Pelt and there seemed to be no end in sight.
Simmons' charm is his uniqueness, yet ability to describe what everyone else is thinking and going through. And so through him and through "Now I Can Die in Peace," you reboard the roller coaster that was Boston's baseball team for 86 straight years and cry all over again when the ride surprises you with a soft landing.
It's definitely the kind of book you break out from time to time like your high school year book, shake your head, and say "well, i'll be damned!" -- Andy Wasif, author Green Monster University: Creating Die-Hahd Fans Since 1901

Write your own review about Now I Can Die in Peace: How ESPN's Sports Guy Found Salvation, with a Little Help From Nomar, Pedro, Shawshank, and the 2004 Red Sox

Ask A Question or Provide Feedback regarding Now I Can Die in Peace: How ESPN's Sports Guy Found Salvation, with a Little Help From Nomar, Pedro, Shawshank, and the 2004 Red Sox

Item Feedback and Product Questions
For immediate assistance call 888.395.0572 during the hours of 10am thru 8pm EST Monday thru Friday and a customer care representative will be happy to help you!

Help us continuously improve our service by reporting your feedback or questions below:

I have a question regarding this product
The information above is incorrect or conflicting
The page has misspellings or incorrect grammar
The page did not load correctly in my browser or created an error.

Email Address:
Anti Spam Question. To combat spammers we require that you answer a simple question.
What color is the sky?
Leave This Blank :
Do Not Change This Text :

Add This Product Widget To Your Website

Looking to add this information to your own website? Then use our Product Widget to allow you to display product information in a frame that is 120 pixels wide by 240 pixels high.

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website and enjoy!

Order toll-free weekdays 10am thru 10pm EST by phone: 1-888-395-0572 (Lines are closed on holidays & weekends.)
Customer Service | My Account | Track My Orders | Return Policy | Request Free Catalog | Email Newsletter

Gift Certificates
RSS Feeds
About Us
Contact Us
Terms Of Use
Privacy Policy