Newsletter   Secure Checkout   Shopping Cart (0 Items)  
Search:    Welcome Guest! Save up to 30-40% on most items with our awesome everyday discounts!

The Ant King: and Other Stories [Hardcover]

Our Price $ 16.80  
Retail Value $ 24.00  
You Save $ 7.20  (30%)  
Item Number 260292  
Buy New $16.80
Out Of Stock!
Currently Out Of Stock
Currently unavailable...

Item description for The Ant King: and Other Stories by Benjamin Rosenbaum...

"Featuring outlandish and striking imagery throughout---a woman in love with an elephant, an orange that ruled the world---this collection is a surrealistic wonderland."
---Publishers Weekly

"Urbane without being arch, sweet without being maudlin, mysterious without being cryptic."---Cory Doctorow, Boing Boing

A dazzling, postmodern debut collection of pulp and surreal fictions: a writer of alternate histories defends his patron's zeppelin against assassins and pirates; a woman transforms into hundreds of gumballs; an emancipated children's collective goes house hunting.

Benjamin Rosenbaum's stories have appeared in Asimov's Science Fiction and McSweeney's, been translated into fourteen languages, and listed in The Best American Short Stories 2006. Shortlisted for the Hugo and Nebula awards, Rosenbaum's work has been reprinted in Harper's and The Year's Best Science Fiction. He lives in Switzerland with his family.

Promise Angels is dedicated to bringing you great books at great prices. Whether you read for entertainment, to learn, or for literacy - you will find what you want at!

Item Specifications...

Pages   272
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 8.6" Width: 5.6" Height: 0.9"
Weight:   0.9 lbs.
Binding  Hardcover
Release Date   Aug 1, 2009
Publisher   Small Beer Press
ISBN  1931520526  
ISBN13  9781931520522  

Availability  0 units.

More About Benjamin Rosenbaum

Register your artisan biography and upload your photo! Benjamin Rosenbaum ( grew up in Arlington, Virginia, and received degrees in computer science and religious studies from Brown University. His work has been published in Harper's, Nature, McSweeney's, F&SF, Asimov's, Interzone, All-Star Zeppelin Adventure Stories, and Strange Horizons. Small Beer Press published his chapbook Other Cities. He and his family live in Switzerland.

Benjamin Rosenbaum was born in 1969.

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.

Product Categories

1Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > History & Criticism > Criticism & Theory > General
2Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > Short Stories > General
3Books > Subjects > Science Fiction & Fantasy > Science Fiction > History & Criticism

Reviews - What do customers think about The Ant King: and Other Stories?

Essential short stories  Aug 25, 2008
These are excellent short stories -- fantastic, moving, and vivid. Rosenbaum moves easily between genres, from fable to hard sf to epic post-modern historical fantasy to straight fantasy with astonishing ease and deftness.

Some high points:

"Biographical Notes..." is just tremendous. Simultaneously a zeppelin adventure story, a post-modern literary romp, a deep work of historical fiction, and a treatise on the nature of causality, it is one of the most jaw-droppingly audacious stories I've ever read.

I have never had the experience of laughing and crying simultaneously at a short story until I read 'The Orange'.

"The House Beyond Your Sky" is an original and heartbreaking take on the sub-genre of cosmological fiction that Steven Baxter and Greg Egan have popularized.

Anyone interested in contemporary fiction should read this book. Particularly recommended for fans of Borges, Kelly Link, Howard Waldrop, and Michael Swanwick.
Free SF Reader  Aug 15, 2008
A collection of 16 stories, or if you look at it another way, 29, as Other Cities is a collection itself of 14 short-shorts about some odd places.

Small Beer press should again be commended for kindly producing some reader friendly electronic versions of the work in a variety of common and easily usable formats. Nice work.

A dichomotomy here, some strong SF stories, some reasonable fantasy work, and a bunch of really short fantasy/slipstream/surreal pieces that if they never existed - would anyone notice? Hard to do these well, and for a lot of people I think they may drag down the rest - certainly does for me.

However, it finishes with an excellent fantasy story.

Ant King and Other Stories : The Ant King: A California Fairy Tale - Benjamin Rosenbaum
Ant King and Other Stories : The Valley of Giants - Benjamin Rosenbaum
Ant King and Other Stories : The Orange - Benjamin Rosenbaum
Ant King and Other Stories : Biographical Notes to 'A Discourse on the Nature of Causality, with Air-Planes' - Benjamin Rosenbaum
Ant King and Other Stories : Start the Clock - Benjamin Rosenbaum
Ant King and Other Stories : The Blow - Benjamin Rosenbaum
Ant King and Other Stories : Embracing-the-New - Benjamin Rosenbaum
Ant King and Other Stories : Falling - Benjamin Rosenbaum
Ant King and Other Stories : Orphans - Benjamin Rosenbaum
Ant King and Other Stories : On the Cliff by the River - Benjamin Rosenbaum
Ant King and Other Stories : Fig - Benjamin Rosenbaum
Ant King and Other Stories : The Book of Jashar - Benjamin Rosenbaum
Ant King and Other Stories : The House Beyond Your Sky - Benjamin Rosenbaum
Ant King and Other Stories : Red Leather Tassels - Benjamin Rosenbaum
Ant King and Other Stories : Other Cities - Benjamin Rosenbaum
Ant King and Other Stories : Sense and Sensibility - Benjamin Rosenbaum
Ant King and Other Stories : A Siege of Cranes - Benjamin Rosenbaum

Up and at 'em, Gumball Stan.

3.5 out of 5

Big br3ast fetish.

3 out of 5

All hail our new fruity overlord.

3.5 out of 5

Writer's reckless revenge desperate chase dash, defeated by pirate killer dame leading to daring dirigible dive escape surprise.

4.5 out of 5

Vego cat just as annoying as the usual kind.

3 out of 5

Transcription translation of Timothy Archer, Dagon it, David.

4 out of 5

Making a universal mess of it.

3 out of 5

Write your own review about The Ant King: and Other Stories

Ask A Question or Provide Feedback regarding The Ant King: and Other Stories

Item Feedback and Product Questions
For immediate assistance call 888.395.0572 during the hours of 10am thru 8pm EST Monday thru Friday and a customer care representative will be happy to help you!

Help us continuously improve our service by reporting your feedback or questions below:

I have a question regarding this product
The information above is incorrect or conflicting
The page has misspellings or incorrect grammar
The page did not load correctly in my browser or created an error.

Email Address:
Anti Spam Question. To combat spammers we require that you answer a simple question.
What color is the sky?
Leave This Blank :
Do Not Change This Text :

Add This Product Widget To Your Website

Looking to add this information to your own website? Then use our Product Widget to allow you to display product information in a frame that is 120 pixels wide by 240 pixels high.

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website and enjoy!

Order toll-free weekdays 10am thru 10pm EST by phone: 1-888-395-0572 (Lines are closed on holidays & weekends.)
Customer Service | My Account | Track My Orders | Return Policy | Request Free Catalog | Email Newsletter

Gift Certificates
RSS Feeds
About Us
Contact Us
Terms Of Use
Privacy Policy