Newsletter   Secure Checkout   Shopping Cart (0 Items)  
Search:    Welcome Guest! Save up to 30-40% on most items with our awesome everyday discounts!

There Are No Children Here: The Story of Two Boys Growing Up in The Other America [Paperback]

By Alex Kotlowitz (Author)
Our Price $ 11.20  
Retail Value $ 16.00  
You Save $ 4.80  (30%)  
Item Number 158225  
Buy New $11.20
Available on the Internet only.

Alternate Formats List Price Our Price Item Number Availability
MP3 CD $ 29.95 $ 20.97 933095 In Stock
Paperback $ 16.00 $ 11.20 158225 In Stock

Item description for There Are No Children Here: The Story of Two Boys Growing Up in The Other America by Alex Kotlowitz...

Examines the lives of two inner-city brothers who live in a Chicago housing project and their daily struggle for survival and enduring hope

Publishers Description
This is the moving and powerful account of two  remarkable boys struggling to survive in Chicago's  Henry Horner Homes, a public housing complex  disfigured by crime and neglect.
"Alex Kotlowitz  joins the ranks of the important few writers on the  subiect of urban poverty." --  Chicago Tribune.

Awards and Recognitions
There Are No Children Here: The Story of Two Boys Growing Up in The Other America by Alex Kotlowitz has received the following awards and recognitions -
  • Helen Bernstein Book Award - 1992 Winner - Excellence in Journalism category

Citations And Professional Reviews
There Are No Children Here: The Story of Two Boys Growing Up in The Other America by Alex Kotlowitz has been reviewed by professional book reviewers and journalists at the following establishments -
  • Wilson Senior High Core Col - 01/01/2002 page 55
  • Wilson Public Library Catalog - 01/01/1993 page 120
  • Wilson Senior High Core Col - 01/01/1997 page 61
  • Wilson Public Library Catalog - 01/01/1998 page 112

Promise Angels is dedicated to bringing you great books at great prices. Whether you read for entertainment, to learn, or for literacy - you will find what you want at!

Item Specifications...

Studio: Anchor
Pages   336
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 8.04" Width: 5.18" Height: 0.7"
Weight:   0.7 lbs.
Binding  Softcover
Release Date   Jan 5, 1992
Publisher   Anchor
ISBN  0385265565  
ISBN13  9780385265560  

Availability  45 units.
Availability accurate as of Oct 26, 2016 11:38.
Usually ships within one to two business days from La Vergne, TN.
Orders shipping to an address other than a confirmed Credit Card / Paypal Billing address may incur and additional processing delay.

More About Alex Kotlowitz

Register your artisan biography and upload your photo! ALEX KOTLOWITZ is the author of The Other Side of the River and There Are No Children Here, which was selected as one of the 150 most important books of the century by the New York Public Library. He lives in Chicago.

Alex Kotlowitz currently resides in Chicago, in the state of Illinois.

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.

Product Categories

1Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > General > Contemporary
2Books > Subjects > Nonfiction > Social Sciences > Children's Studies
3Books > Subjects > Nonfiction > Social Sciences > Sociology > General
4Books > Subjects > Nonfiction > Social Sciences > Sociology > Marriage & Family
5Books > Subjects > Nonfiction > Social Sciences > Sociology > Urban
6Books > Subjects > Nonfiction > Social Sciences > Special Groups > African American Studies

Similar Products

Reviews - What do customers think about There Are No Children Here: The Story of Two Boys Growing Up in The Other America?

There are No Children Here: The Story of Two Boys Growing Up in the Other America  May 2, 2008
I found this book both rewarding and disturbing at the same time but appreciated that it took me out of my middle class comfort zone and reminded me that there are social and cultural inequities that continue to cry out urgently for solutions.
Mr Kotlowitz has the ability to describe the lives of two young gentle souls who are raised as best their mother can against a system that tolerates, shamefully, physical surrounds and economic deprivations that most of us can only guess at.
The author narrates his observations as he follows the children around and describes how they deal with the life they are dealt and the heroics involved in order to do so over a two year period.
I think that the way we are shown how their loving mother has to go about her daily life should awaken in all of us a desire to help in any way we can, to find ways to ease the life of those who live in sub standard housing and the lack of more assistance to live a more comfortable and nurturing life.
Without tackling such issues, we continue to condemn our youngsters to a way of life that inhibits their potential and ingrains the social ills that contribute significantly to their development.
Mr Kotlowitz,in deciding to help those youngster personally, to give them the opportunity to study at a private school, whether they did or did not ultimately benefit from his generosity, is an example most of us can only dream about.
I highly recommend this book to all who may wish to gain insight into a class in our society that cries out for understanding and assistance.
Incredible book to read depicting subsidized housing in Chgo  Apr 23, 2008
Incredible book and this is a strong and valid depiction of life in the Chgo Housing Projects as seen through the eyes of 2 young boys and their family members. The uphill battles and huge struggles are incomprehensible. You don't have to be from Chgo to appreciate this.
Riveting look at poverty  Jan 10, 2008
Kotlowitz has given us a striking example of the power of journalism.

This book is able to show the reader the plight of the urban poor without overly moralizing. Kotlowitz gives a straight ahead account of the lives of Lafeyette and Pharoah, the two brothers this book centers. Their struggles to retain their innocence while living in an environment that strips it away is mesmerizing.

I could not help but empathize with the families in this book. A lot of pundits will say that poor people are lazy, but this book brings a lot of their challenges to light. When survival is a day to day struggle, how can people be expected to get ahead? Kotlowitz details the struggles the boys and their families have in trying to improve their situation.

This book is a modern classic about poverty and its effects, in the vein of 'Down and Out in Paris and London' by George Orwell. Anyone wanting to understand 'welfare moms' and why they don't improve their situations should read this.
The other America indeed  Sep 25, 2007
Nice mix of anecdote and historical background on life in inner city America. Excellent insight into the everyday difficulties faced by families and some of the root causes. This book, though almost 20 years old, still has a message that needs to be heard.
a sobering account of the horrendous state of America's impoverished  Jul 18, 2007
You don't need to look to Africa or the Middle East to find crime and poverty. Millions live in gang-riddled public housing projects, where violence is a fact of life. If these thoughts don't stir your heart, this book will.

Write your own review about There Are No Children Here: The Story of Two Boys Growing Up in The Other America

Ask A Question or Provide Feedback regarding There Are No Children Here: The Story of Two Boys Growing Up in The Other America

Item Feedback and Product Questions
For immediate assistance call 888.395.0572 during the hours of 10am thru 8pm EST Monday thru Friday and a customer care representative will be happy to help you!

Help us continuously improve our service by reporting your feedback or questions below:

I have a question regarding this product
The information above is incorrect or conflicting
The page has misspellings or incorrect grammar
The page did not load correctly in my browser or created an error.

Email Address:
Anti Spam Question. To combat spammers we require that you answer a simple question.
What color is the sky?
Leave This Blank :
Do Not Change This Text :

Add This Product Widget To Your Website

Looking to add this information to your own website? Then use our Product Widget to allow you to display product information in a frame that is 120 pixels wide by 240 pixels high.

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website and enjoy!

Order toll-free weekdays 10am thru 10pm EST by phone: 1-888-395-0572 (Lines are closed on holidays & weekends.)
Customer Service | My Account | Track My Orders | Return Policy | Request Free Catalog | Email Newsletter

Gift Certificates
RSS Feeds
About Us
Contact Us
Terms Of Use
Privacy Policy