Newsletter   Secure Checkout   Shopping Cart (0 Items)  
Search:    Welcome Guest! Save up to 30-40% on most items with our awesome everyday discounts!

Imaginary Poets: 22 Master Poets Create 22 Master Poets [Paperback]

Our Price $ 13.96  
Retail Value $ 19.95  
You Save $ 5.99  (30%)  
Item Number 256392  
Buy New $13.96
Out Of Stock!
Currently Out Of Stock
Currently unavailable...

Item description for Imaginary Poets: 22 Master Poets Create 22 Master Poets by Alan Michael Parker...

Twenty-two notable poets (including Andrew Hudgins, Maxine Kumin, David St. John, and Mark Strand) offer translations of a poem by a poet they find significant, along with a short biography of the poet and an essay. But there's a surprise-the poet and poem presented are invented by the book's 22 contributors!

The Imaginary Poets presents exceptional work from major poets who delight in assuming a whole new persona. But the book's ultimate goal is to explore the nature of creativity: What is it to make a poem? To make up a poet? To "translate" a work-is that rewriting or writing? What about translating a work that never existed? What does it mean if you create the creator?

In the tradition of Pessoa and Borges, The Imaginary Poets delves delightedly into the very act of invention with a wink, a smile, and tremendous respect for the art.

Alan Michael Parker is the author of three books of poems, a novel, and has edited two anthologies. He graduated from Washington University and received his MFA from Columbia. He is the recipient of a Pushcart Prize and fellowships from the Arts & Science Council and the MacDowell Colony, as well as the 2003 Lucille Medwick memorial Award from the Poetry Society of America. His poems appear in The New Yorker, The New Republic, The Paris Review, and others. His prose appears regularly in The New Yorker and The New York Times Book Review. He is director of the creative writing program at Davidson College and performs and lectures widely.

Promise Angels is dedicated to bringing you great books at great prices. Whether you read for entertainment, to learn, or for literacy - you will find what you want at!

Item Specifications...

Pages   160
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 8.8" Width: 6.7" Height: 0.2"
Weight:   0.55 lbs.
Binding  Softcover
Release Date   Oct 1, 2005
Publisher   Tupelo Press
ISBN  1932195203  
ISBN13  9781932195200  

Availability  0 units.

More About Alan Michael Parker

Register your artisan biography and upload your photo! Alan Michael Parker ( is the author of five collections of poems including The Vandals (BOA, 1999), and Love Song with Motor Vehicles (BOA, 2003). He is editor of The Imaginary Poets, co-editor of The Routledge Anthology of Cross-Gendered Verse, and Editor for North America of Who's Who in 20th Century World Poetry.

Alan Michael Parker currently resides in the state of North Carolina. Alan Michael Parker was born in 1961.

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.

Product Categories

1Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > Poetry > Anthologies
2Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > Poetry > General

Reviews - What do customers think about Imaginary Poets: 22 Master Poets Create 22 Master Poets?

Be the first to write a review about Imaginary Poets: 22 Master Poets Create 22 Master Poets

Ask A Question or Provide Feedback regarding Imaginary Poets: 22 Master Poets Create 22 Master Poets

Item Feedback and Product Questions
For immediate assistance call 888.395.0572 during the hours of 10am thru 8pm EST Monday thru Friday and a customer care representative will be happy to help you!

Help us continuously improve our service by reporting your feedback or questions below:

I have a question regarding this product
The information above is incorrect or conflicting
The page has misspellings or incorrect grammar
The page did not load correctly in my browser or created an error.

Email Address:
Anti Spam Question. To combat spammers we require that you answer a simple question.
What color is the sky?
Leave This Blank :
Do Not Change This Text :

Add This Product Widget To Your Website

Looking to add this information to your own website? Then use our Product Widget to allow you to display product information in a frame that is 120 pixels wide by 240 pixels high.

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website and enjoy!

Order toll-free weekdays 10am thru 10pm EST by phone: 1-888-395-0572 (Lines are closed on holidays & weekends.)
Customer Service | My Account | Track My Orders | Return Policy | Request Free Catalog | Email Newsletter

Gift Certificates
RSS Feeds
About Us
Contact Us
Terms Of Use
Privacy Policy